Rhode Peptide Glazing Fluid: Where the Peptide Actually Sits

Written by

in

Rhode’s Peptide Glazing Fluid is named for a peptide, and it contains exactly one of them: acetyl hexapeptide-8. On the brand’s own current ingredient list it appears at position nine of twenty-two, after water, glycerin, butylene glycol, marula oil, niacinamide and a pair of texture ingredients. An independently uploaded 2022 label shows the same peptide last. Either way, it sits behind niacinamide, the ingredient on this label with the deeper evidence base.

Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil Goods, so read us as interested rather than neutral. What we do here is dull and checkable: we copy the public INCI list, we name where we got it, and we point at where the ingredient on the front of the bottle actually lands on the back. The peptide glazing fluid is a good one to do it to, because the name makes a promise the list can be measured against.

What is actually in Rhode Peptide Glazing Fluid?

Here is the list as published on the brand’s own product page, read on 21 October 2026 (the UK storefront shows an identical order). Verbatim, in sequence:

water (aqua) (eau), glycerin, butylene glycol, sclerocarya birrea seed oil, niacinamide, tetradecane, capryloyl glycerin/sebacic acid copolymer, diheptyl succinate, acetyl hexapeptide-8, sodium hyaluronate, hydroxyacetophenone, caprylyl glycol, glyceryl oleate, dilauryl thiodipropionate, acrylates/c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, sucrose palmitate, sodium phosphate, disodium phosphate, phenoxyethanol, sodium hydroxide, benzyl alcohol

Source: rhodeskin.com/products/peptide-glazing-fluid, read 2026-10-21.

That list runs to twenty-two entries. “Sclerocarya birrea seed oil” is marula oil. The single peptide, acetyl hexapeptide-8, is the ninth thing listed. Everything above it is a solvent, a humectant, an oil, a vitamin or a texture agent — all perfectly ordinary, none of them the peptide the product is sold on.

Pencil sketch of Nib, a small round creature, holding a magnifying glass up to a dewy skincare bottle labelled with a long ingredient list.
Nib finds a bottle named after a peptide and goes looking for the peptide.

Why does the peptide’s position matter?

Cosmetic labels run in descending order of weight, but only down to one percent. Below that line, both US and EU rules let a brand list ingredients in any order it likes. Preservatives such as phenoxyethanol usually live in that sub-one-percent zone, and on this list phenoxyethanol sits at position twenty. So some of the ordering below the first handful of ingredients is a presentation choice, not a strict ranking.

That caveat cuts two ways, and it is why this particular product is worth a careful look rather than a quick dunk. There is a second, independently sourced version of the list that disagrees:

Water/Aqua/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Niacinamide, Tetradecane, Capryloyl Glycerin/Sebacic Acid Copolymer, Diheptyl Succinate, Benzyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Oleate, Sucrose Palmitate, Hydroxyacetophenone, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium Phosphate, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dilauryl Thiodipropionate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8

Source: INCIDecoder, user submission uploaded 2022-06-15, read 2026-10-21.

On that 2022 list the peptide is dead last — position twenty-one — and phenoxyethanol does not appear at all. We cannot tell you which ordering is printed on the bottle on your shelf today without checking a physical label, and we have not done that, so we are not going to claim one is “the” truth. Three readings are possible: the formula was tweaked between 2022 and now, the brand’s site uses the legal reordering of sub-one-percent ingredients to present the peptide higher, or the old user entry simply had it wrong. The honest version is the one we can stand behind: on the most charitable current source the peptide is ninth, on the other it is last, and neither puts it anywhere near the front.

Ingredient the product is named for
Acetyl hexapeptide-8 — the only peptide present.
Position, brand’s current site
#9 of 22.
Position, 2022 user-submitted label
#21 (last).
Ingredient with the deeper evidence base here
Niacinamide, at #5.
Pencil sketch of Nib counting down a numbered ingredient list with a pencil, mouthing the numbers as the peptide stays out of reach near the bottom.
Counting down the list: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, marula oil, niacinamide… still counting.

What does the evidence say about acetyl hexapeptide-8?

This is where it gets genuinely interesting, and where we would rather lay out the uncertainty than pretend it away. Acetyl hexapeptide-8 — you may know it as Argireline — is a real research ingredient, not a fairy tale. A 2026 systematic review pulled together eleven studies and 412 participants and found it at ten percent produced close to a 49% reduction in wrinkle depth against zero for placebo at four weeks. That is a meaningful result.

But the same review is careful, and so are we. One included study (Henseler 2023) found no significant reduction at all — the authors reported p = 0.829 — for an Argireline serum that also contained hyaluronic acid. The review’s own summary is that these peptides “do not yet match the rapid, high-magnitude response” of injectables. The effect is real, inconsistent, and heavily dependent on concentration.

Concentration is the catch. The Cosmetic Ingredient Review’s safety assessment cites an industry survey in which acetyl hexapeptide-8 is used in leave-on face products at up to 0.005%. The wrinkle studies that impress people use it at ten percent. That is a two-thousand-fold gap between the dose that gets studied and the dose that typically goes into a jar. Rhode does not disclose a percentage for its peptide, so we cannot tell you which end of that range this fluid sits at — only that the ingredient’s position on the list does not suggest the high end.

There is one more quiet constraint. A 2025 review of acetyl hexapeptide-8 in cosmeceuticals notes that, being water-loving and fairly large, the molecule “faces limited permeability through the lipophilic stratum corneum, making effective dermal delivery challenging.” A peptide has to get past the surface to do the work it is studied for, and that is not a given from a leave-on fluid.

Pencil sketch of Nib squinting at two different copies of the same label pinned side by side, each showing the peptide in a different spot.
Two sourced labels, two different spots for the same peptide. Nib pins both up.

So what is doing the glow?

Look back at the top of the list. Glycerin is second; it is one of the best-evidenced humectants there is. Niacinamide is fifth — and its position above the one-percent line matters, because a 2025 dermatology review notes that “clinical studies consistently show significant improvements in ageing signs with 2–5% niacinamide concentrations.” Marula oil and a stack of emollients fill in the texture. Those ingredients, not the ninth one, are what most formulators would credit for a dewy finish. We will not tell you what literally produces the “glaze” — that would need rheology testing nobody has shown us — only that the hydrators and oils doing the visible work all sit ahead of the namesake peptide.

None of this makes the Peptide Glazing Fluid a bad product. It is a competent, pleasant humectant-and-niacinamide formula with a peptide along for the ride and a very good name. The thing to notice is the distance between the word on the front and the position on the back: the ingredient the product is sold on is not the ingredient doing the most measurable work in it.

Pencil sketch of Nib holding up a small card that reads up to 0.005 percent, eyebrows raised at the gap between a studied dose and a typical one.
The regulator-adjacent survey number Nib keeps coming back to.

What does a serum built around the peptide look like instead?

A fair question once you have seen the list is: what would a formula look like if the peptide were the point rather than the name? For contrast, our own Copper Peptide Blue Honey Serum from Evil Goods (yes, ours) leads with copper tripeptide-1, a different class of peptide, and lists it up front rather than ninth. We are not going to claim it outperforms anything — different peptide, different evidence, and we would be breaking our own rules to promise a result. The only point worth making is structural: when an active is the argument, it tends to appear where the weight is, near the top. When it is the brand name, it can appear anywhere.

The takeaway is the same one Nib reaches for at the end of every desk shift: read the list, not the name. A product can be named for its least-concentrated ingredient entirely legally, and plenty are.

Frequently asked questions

Does Rhode Peptide Glazing Fluid actually contain a peptide?

Yes — acetyl hexapeptide-8, one peptide. On the brand’s current list it is the ninth ingredient of twenty-two; on a 2022 user-submitted label it is the last. Neither source places it near the front.

Is acetyl hexapeptide-8 proven to reduce wrinkles?

The evidence is real but mixed and dose-dependent. At ten percent, pooled studies show roughly 49% wrinkle reduction at four weeks; one study found no significant effect; typical leave-on use is reported at up to 0.005%. The brand does not disclose its concentration.

Why do two sources list the peptide in different positions?

Ingredients under one percent can legally be listed in any order. The brand’s site may reorder sub-one-percent ingredients, the formula may have changed since 2022, or the older entry may be wrong. Confirming it needs a physical bottle, which we have not checked.

What is the best-evidenced active on this label?

Niacinamide, at position five. A 2025 review reports consistent improvement in signs of ageing at 2–5% concentrations — and position five implies it sits above the one-percent line.

Pencil sketch of Nib setting down the magnifying glass, satisfied, beside a short note that says read the list, not the name.
Nib’s takeaway: the name on the front is a marketing decision; the list on the back is the formula.