Tag: Aveeno

  • Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion: The Oat Is Ingredient #7

    Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion takes its name from
    the oat — “Aveeno” comes from Avena, the oat genus
    — but on the fragrance-free body formula, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour
    is the seventh of ten ingredients. Six names come before it, including petrolatum
    at position four. The ingredient the FDA registers as this product’s active
    skin protectant is not oat at all: it is dimethicone, boxed in the Drug Facts at
    1.2%. The oat is an inactive.

    Aveeno is one of the moisturizers US dermatologists reach for most, and its
    whole identity is oats: the brand is literally named after the oat, and the
    bottle is sold as Daily Moisturizing Lotion “with Soothing Oat.” That
    is the front of the bottle. The back — the ingredient list, ordered roughly
    by weight, and the Drug Facts box, which is a legal document — tells a more
    precise story, and it is one you can check in about a minute.

    We read the whole label. Here is where everything actually sits.

    Where does the oat actually land on the label?

    Here is the full inactive list, quoted verbatim from the product page at
    Ulta.com,
    read on 4 September 2026 (HTTP 200), and cross-checked against the FDA-submitted
    label on
    DailyMed
    (NIH; last updated July 2025). Both agree, and a third US retail listing matches:

    Water, Glycerin, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Petrolatum, Isopropyl Palmitate, Cetyl Alcohol, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour, Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Chloride.

    Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour is the seventh name on that list of ten. It
    appears after water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride, petrolatum, isopropyl
    palmitate and cetyl alcohol. On a label ordered by weight, a brand’s
    namesake ingredient in seventh place sits well below the top of the formula
    — below the occlusive, the emollients and the emulsifier that give the
    lotion its body and slip.

    One detail matters before we go further. This is the specific SKU we read: the
    fragrance-free Daily Moisturizing body lotion (NDC 69968-0454). Aveeno’s
    other products — the Skin Relief version, the face lotion, the scented
    variants — have different lists and the oat sits at different positions, so
    this analysis is about this bottle only.

    Marketed hero
    Oat (“with Soothing Oat”)
    Position on label
    Seventh of ten (Avena Sativa Oat Kernel Flour)
    Registered active
    Dimethicone 1.2% — skin protectant, per the Drug Facts box
    Source of list
    Ulta.com, read 4 Sep 2026; DailyMed FDA-submitted label
    Nib the round pencil-sketch creature holds a magnifying glass up to a pump bottle whose front reads soothing oat, squinting at the small ingredient type on the back.
    The front says soothing oat. Nib flips the bottle over to find out where the oat actually lands.

    So what is the FDA-registered active in Aveeno?

    This is the part the front of the bottle does not lead with. Aveeno Daily
    Moisturizing Lotion is not filed as a cosmetic. It is a Human OTC
    Drug
    , and every OTC drug has a Drug Facts box that names one or more
    active ingredients. On this product, the
    FDA-submitted
    label
    lists exactly one active:

    Active ingredient: Dimethicone 1.2% — Purpose: Skin protectant

    Dimethicone is a silicone. It sits at position eight in the inactive-order
    reading of the combined list, but its role is defined separately in the Drug
    Facts: it is the ingredient Aveeno registered with the agency as doing the
    skin-protecting. The FDA even indexes the product by that active — the drug
    registration name is “Aveeno Daily Moisturizing dimethicone lotion.”
    Not oat lotion. The oat, by contrast, appears nowhere in the Drug Facts box. It
    is one of the inactives.

    And it is not the only workhorse ahead of the oat.
    Petrolatum sits at position four — three places above the
    oat. Petrolatum is one of the most effective occlusives in cosmetic chemistry and
    is itself an FDA-recognized skin protectant under the OTC monograph
    (21 CFR 347.10). It
    is the ingredient forming the barrier film that slows water loss. So the pair of
    ingredients most responsible for this being a “moisturizing” lotion
    — the registered protectant and the occlusive — are dimethicone and
    petrolatum. The oat is downstream of both.

    Position Ingredient What it does
    3 Distearyldimonium Chloride Quaternary conditioning agent; gives the lotion its slip
    4 Petrolatum Occlusive; an FDA-recognized skin protectant in its own right
    7 Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour The namesake ingredient; an inactive, seventh of ten
    8 Dimethicone (1.2%) The registered active skin protectant, per the Drug Facts box

    None of this makes it a poor lotion. Dimethicone and petrolatum are both
    genuinely effective, well-tolerated ingredients, and a barrier lotion built on
    them is a reasonable thing to buy. The point is narrower and fair: it is a
    dimethicone-and-petrolatum protectant with oat as an inactive, sold as an oat
    lotion. If you bought it for the oat, you mostly bought the silicone and the
    petrolatum.

    Nib runs a pencil down a short numbered list and stops at a jar of petrolatum sitting at position four, drawn larger than the small oat grain three places below it.
    Petrolatum at four, an occlusive doing real barrier work, three places above the namesake oat.

    Is the oat here the same as the “colloidal oatmeal” in the studies?

    This is where it gets genuinely interesting, and where we have to be honest
    about what the label does and does not tell us.

    The FDA does recognize colloidal oatmeal as an OTC skin-protectant
    active in its own right — it has its own entry in the same monograph that
    covers petrolatum
    (21 CFR 347.10). A
    brand that wanted to could file oat as the active and put it in the Drug Facts
    box. Aveeno did not. On this product they filed dimethicone and left the oat as
    an inactive, listed as “Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour” rather than
    as colloidal oatmeal. Oat kernel flour is finely milled oat; whether it meets the
    monograph’s colloidal-dispersal definition is not something we can read off
    the label, so we are not going to assert it either way.

    The clinical evidence for oat in a lotion is real but specific about dose. An
    Aveeno-affiliated study in Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational
    Dermatology
    describes benefits from
    “a daily
    moisturizing lotion containing 1% colloidal oat”
    (2021;14:73–82
    — and note the study is company-affiliated, so weigh it accordingly). An
    independent randomized trial reached similar conclusions using a
    1% colloidal oat
    formulation (J Drugs Dermatol. 2020;19(5):524–531), though that was
    a dedicated eczema cream, not this daily lotion.

    Here is the honest gap: Aveeno does not disclose the oat concentration
    in this product,
    and no brand is required to. What we can say is what the
    label shows — the oat is seventh of ten, below several ingredients present
    in larger amounts — and what the research shows — the studied benefit
    sits at 1% colloidal oat. We cannot line those two numbers up, because one of them
    is not published. We are not going to guess it for you. But “the namesake
    ingredient is an inactive at position seven, and the evidence base is built at 1%,
    which the brand does not confirm it hits” is a fair place to leave it.

    Nib peers at a labelled drug-facts box that reads Dimethicone one point two percent, skin protectant, and glances back at the oat grain marked number seven.
    The active the FDA registers is dimethicone, boxed and dosed. The oat is an inactive at seven.

    What is distearyldimonium chloride doing at position three?

    Three names above the oat, at position three, is distearyldimonium chloride.
    It is a quaternary ammonium compound — the same family of ingredients used
    as conditioning agents in hair care. In a body lotion it is what gives the
    formula its slip and its soft, conditioned skin-feel. It is common, it is legal,
    and it is well ahead of the oat by weight.

    We are flagging it only because it is a slightly unusual thing to find that
    high in a skin lotion, and because it explains part of the pleasant feel that the
    marketing tends to credit to the oat. We are not going to make a safety claim
    about it: the finished-product concentration here is not disclosed, and the
    consumer-advocacy ratings that circulate about this ingredient are based on the
    pure chemical, not on a lotion. That is a different question from the one this
    piece answers, which is simply: where does it sit? It sits at three, above the
    oat.

    Nib taps the pencil against an open regulation labelled colloidal oatmeal, then at the oat grain on the label with a small question mark drawn above it.
    The FDA recognises colloidal oatmeal as an active. Aveeno filed dimethicone instead and left the oat inactive.

    How do you read any moisturizer’s label this way yourself?

    The method is not special to Aveeno, and you do not need a chemistry
    background. Find the actual ingredient list — and, on anything sold as a
    moisturizing or protectant lotion, find the Drug Facts box too, because
    that names the active. Ingredients are listed in descending order of weight down
    to about the 1% mark, so where a name sits is a rough proxy for how much is in
    the bottle. Then find the ingredient the front of the bottle is selling and see
    how far down it is. If the hero is in the top few names, marketing and formula
    agree. If it is seventh, and the thing in the Drug Facts box is something else
    entirely, they do not.

    If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the ingredient on the front
    is the one doing the work — and where the list is short enough to read in a
    breath — that is a different kind of product. We wrote about that trade-off
    for dry skin specifically on our own product page,
    tallow for dry
    skin
    — that is ours (Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind
    Evil Goods), so read it knowing that. It is the honest next question after this
    one, and it is aimed at exactly the dry-skin reader Aveeno is aimed at.

    FAQ

    Where is the oat in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
    Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour is the seventh of ten ingredients on the
    fragrance-free body lotion, below water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride,
    petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate and cetyl alcohol.

    What is the active ingredient in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
    Dimethicone at 1.2%, listed as a skin protectant in the Drug Facts box on the
    FDA-submitted label. The oat is an inactive, not the registered active.

    Is Aveeno’s oat the same as the colloidal oatmeal in the studies?
    The label lists “oat kernel flour,” not colloidal oatmeal, and the
    product is filed with dimethicone as the active rather than oat. Whether the flour
    meets the FDA’s colloidal-oatmeal definition is not something the label
    tells you, so we do not assert it.

    How much oat is in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
    Aveeno does not disclose the concentration, and it is not required to. The
    published research on oat lotions is built at 1% colloidal oat; the oat here sits
    seventh of ten, below ingredients present in larger amounts.

    Is Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion a bad lotion?
    No. Dimethicone and petrolatum are effective, well-tolerated barrier ingredients.
    The narrower, fairer point is that it is a dimethicone-and-petrolatum protectant
    with oat as an inactive, marketed on the oat.

    Nib sets down the magnifying glass, closes a small notebook titled Ingredient Desk, and gives a satisfied nod beside the fully-read label.
    Label read, front claim checked against the back. The oat is real. It is just not the one on the drug-facts line.