Tag: Neutrogena

  • Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair: Retinol Is Ingredient #26

    On the label of Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair Retinol Face Moisturizer, retinol — the ingredient the product is named after — appears in position 26 on the list. It sits after the fragrance (#20), after the PTFE (#22) and after a long run of preservatives and thickeners. By the convention that INCI lists run roughly in descending order of concentration, the hero active is one of the last things in the jar.

    This is one of the best-selling retinol moisturizers in American drugstores. Retinol is in the product’s name, on the front of the box, and at the top of every line of marketing copy Neutrogena writes for it. So it is worth reading the one thing the marketing does not put on the front: the full ingredient list, in order.

    What does the label actually say?

    Here is the complete INCI list, quoted verbatim. The order is what matters — cosmetic ingredient lists are required to run in descending order of concentration down to 1%, after which the order is a manufacturer’s choice. The position of an ingredient is therefore a rough floor on how little of it can be present.

    Water, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PPG-15 Stearyl Ether, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Glyceryl Behenate, Ceteareth-20, Isohexadecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polyethylene, Sodium Polyacrylate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide, Fragrance, C13-14 Isoparaffin, PTFE, Chlorphenesin, Polysorbate 20, Hydrolyzed Myrtus Communis Leaf Extract, Retinol, BHT, Sodium Hyaluronate, Disodium EDTA, Laureth-7, Sodium Hydroxide, Ascorbic Acid

    Sourced from the product’s entry on the ingredient decoder INKEEDecoder (read 10 September 2026), corroborated by the live listing on the retailer’s own product page, which carries the same sequence with a handful of its own spelling slips. Both are third-party transcriptions of the packaging rather than the manufacturer’s own database, so treat the list as the label as sold, not a formula spec. Neutrogena markets this active as “Retinol SA”; that is a branding term, and the INCI simply reads Retinol.

    Nib, a small round creature drawn in loose pencil sketch, holds a large magnifying glass up to a long product ingredient label, squinting to read a word near the very bottom.
    Nib doing the one thing the front of the box never asks you to: reading to the end of the list.

    Where does the retinol actually sit?

    Retinol appears in position 26. To put that in order, here is the back half of the list — the part after the water, the silicones and the emulsifiers have all been named.

    Position Ingredient What it is doing
    20 Fragrance Perfume — a common contact allergen, here ahead of the active
    22 PTFE Polytetrafluoroethylene, the raw material of Teflon; a slip/smoothing agent, no skin-treatment role
    26 Retinol The named hero active
    28 Sodium Hyaluronate The “hyaluronic acid” the box also advertises
    32 Ascorbic Acid Vitamin C, last on the list, present as an antioxidant buffer

    Both of the actives Neutrogena advertises on the front of the box — retinol and hyaluronic acid — appear near the very end of the list, at positions 26 and 28. The fragrance and the PTFE both appear earlier, which is to say in larger quantity. None of that is a secret; it is printed on the carton. It is just printed in the order the marketing would rather you did not read.

    Nib stands beside a tall stack of jars and tubes almost as big as it is, counting on its stubby fingers, a pencil tucked behind where an ear would be.
    Counting down the list to ingredient twenty-six takes a while — which is rather the point.

    How much retinol does a position like that imply?

    Neutrogena does not disclose the retinol concentration in this cream in the US, so the honest answer is that we can only reason from the position. Sitting at position 26, below a long run of ingredients that are themselves used at a fraction of a percent, the retinol is almost certainly present in trace amounts — most likely well under 0.1%.

    Why does 0.1% matter? Because that is roughly where the published evidence starts. In one 2022 in-vivo patch-test study, retinol above 0.1% w/w was where the researchers saw histological remodelling of photoaged skin; 0.1% sat at the threshold and higher concentrations were clearer. A separate 2022 review of topical retinoids notes that retinol at around 0.25% is considered comparable to 0.025% tretinoin, with weaker, dose-dependent effects at lower strengths. This is a small, still-developing evidence base — a handful of studies, not settled fact — but it points one way: below about 0.1%, there is not much to point at.

    For contrast, Neutrogena’s newer Rapid Wrinkle Repair Retinol Renewal Serum — a different product — lists retinol far higher in its formula and states 0.1% in its own retailer Q&A. The classic cream analysed here is the one most people have in their bathroom, and it is the one where the active sits at the bottom.

    Nib peers at a measuring beaker holding a single tiny drop, drawn in sketchy pencil lines, one eyebrow raised in mild disbelief.
    A position near the end of a 32-item list is a rough floor on how little can be in the jar.

    Is fragrance before retinol a problem?

    It is at least an odd choice in a treatment product. Retinol itself is a known irritant: a 2024 five-day occlusive patch-test study found that retinol produced clinically significant redness resembling mild irritant contact dermatitis in the tested subjects. That study was small — 18 participants, a single population — so read it as a signal, not a verdict. Fragrance is separately one of the most frequently flagged contact allergens in dermatology, which is why treatment-focused formulas often leave it out. Here it appears at #20, ahead of the active, in a product whose whole selling point is an ingredient that can already sting sensitive skin.

    There is also a regulatory footnote worth its own sentence. In 2024 the EU formally capped retinol in face creams at 0.3% and added a mandatory label warning; Commission Regulation 2024/996 applies there from November 2025. That is a European rule and does not apply in the United States, where there is no equivalent FDA concentration limit for OTC retinol in cosmetics. The gap is worth knowing about, not worth overstating.

    Nib holds up two labels side by side, looking back and forth between them, its round body leaning with curiosity rather than anger.
    The interesting question is never ‘is this bad’ but ‘where does the thing on the front actually sit’.

    What would a formula that leads with its active look like?

    The useful comparison is not a good product versus a bad one — it is a formula that buries its hero versus one that puts it near the top. When copper peptides are the point of a product, for instance, copper tripeptide-1 tends to appear high in the list rather than 26th, because there is no reason to advertise an active and then dose it as an afterthought. Our own Copper Peptide Blue Honey Serum (that is an Evil Goods product — this site is published by the Evil Goods team, and we say so openly) is built that way: the named actives sit where you would expect the thing on the front of the bottle to sit. You do not have to take our word for it — the test is the same one we just ran on Neutrogena. Read the list, find the ingredient the product is named after, and see how far down it is.

    That is the whole method, and it works on any jar in your cabinet. The front of the box tells you what a product wants to be about. The ingredient list, read to the end, tells you what it is actually made of.

    Frequently asked questions

    Where is retinol on the Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair moisturizer label?
    Retinol appears in position 26, after the fragrance (#20) and the PTFE (#22), based on the INCI as transcribed by INKEEDecoder and corroborated by the retailer listing (both read 10 September 2026).
    Does that mean the cream contains almost no retinol?
    It implies a low concentration — position is only a rough floor, and Neutrogena does not disclose the exact figure for this cream in the US. A position that far down is consistent with a trace amount, most likely under the ~0.1% where the published evidence begins.
    Is a low-retinol moisturizer useless?
    Not necessarily — it is still a competent moisturizer, and some people prefer a gentle, low dose. The point is narrower: the marketing sells the retinol, and the label puts it near the bottom.
    Is the fragrance a safety issue?
    Fragrance is a common contact allergen and both fragrance and retinol are known irritants, so a treatment product that lists fragrance ahead of its active is a fair thing to notice. Patch-test evidence here is from small studies; individual reactions vary.
    A final wide sketch of Nib sitting cross-legged on top of a closed jar, magnifying glass resting on its knee, giving a small satisfied nod at a completed ingredient list.
    Nib’s rule of thumb: whatever is on the front of the box, go and find it on the back — and see how far down it fell.
  • Neutrogena Hydro Boost: Hyaluronic Acid Is the 15th Ingredient

    Neutrogena Hydro Boost is sold as a
    “Hyaluronic Acid Water Gel,” but on the original fragranced
    formula’s ingredient list, sodium hyaluronate — the INCI name for
    hyaluronic acid — sits fifteenth out of twenty, after a preservative that
    the EU caps at 1%. The gel you feel is built from silicone: dimethicone is the
    second ingredient and a dimethicone crosspolymer the fourth. The HA is really in
    there, and hyaluronic acid works even at very low levels, but the formula is a
    silicone-and-glycerin gel with the hero ingredient near the bottom of the
    list.

    Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel is one of the best-selling drugstore
    moisturizers in America — stocked prominently at every major US drugstore and
    beauty retailer, with thousands of reviews at each. Its whole identity is hyaluronic
    acid. The name is “Hyaluronic Acid Water Gel.” The marketing copy
    leads with it: “Found naturally in your skin, Hyaluronic Acid hydrates by
    binding to water.” That is the front of the jar.

    The back of the jar — the actual ingredient list, ordered roughly by
    weight down to about the 1% mark — tells a story you can check yourself in
    about a minute. We read the whole label. Here is where everything actually
    sits.

    Where does the hyaluronic acid actually land on the label?

    Here is the full list, quoted verbatim from the product page at
    Ulta.com,
    read on 1 September 2026 (HTTP 200). This is the original fragranced Water Gel
    — the bestselling variant. The same twenty names, in the same order, appear
    on the ingredients as listed at CVS.com (product page, read via search index,
    1 September 2026):

    Water, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Dimethiconol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Carbomer, Laureth-7, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Fragrance, C12-14 Pareth-12, Sodium Hydroxide, Blue 1.

    Sodium Hyaluronate is the fifteenth name on that list of twenty. It appears
    after water, two silicones, glycerin, a preservative, a film-forming polymer, two
    emulsifiers, more silicone, a solvent, another silicone, a second preservative, a
    thickener and an emulsifier. On a label ordered by weight, the marketed hero
    ingredient in fifteenth place is near the bottom of the formula, not the top.

    One position tells you more than the rest. Sodium hyaluronate (#15) sits
    after phenoxyethanol (#5), a preservative the EU restricts to a maximum
    of 1% in all cosmetics (EU Annex V). If the preservative is present at 1% or
    less, everything listed below it is present at 1% or less too. So the HA is
    almost certainly under 1% of the jar. We can’t read an exact percentage off
    a label — Neutrogena has said in a retailer product Q&A that the
    percentage of each ingredient is proprietary — and the EU cap is not a US
    law, but US formulators routinely use phenoxyethanol at or below 1% as well. The
    position and the preservative both point the same way.

    Marketed hero
    Hyaluronic Acid (sodium hyaluronate)
    Position on label
    Fifteenth of twenty, after the preservative
    Building the gel
    Dimethicone (#2) and a dimethicone crosspolymer (#4)
    Source of list
    Ulta.com, read 1 Sep 2026 (HTTP 200); corroborated at CVS.com
    Nib the small round pencil-sketch creature holds a magnifying glass up to a squat blue jar labelled Hyaluronic Acid Water Gel, squinting at the tiny type on the back rather than the big words on the front.
    The front of the jar sells hyaluronic acid. Nib turns it over to find where the HA actually lands.

    So what is actually building the gel you feel?

    Two silicones near the top of the list are doing the work your fingers read as
    “water gel,” and neither is on the front of the jar.

    Dimethicone sits at position two. It is a silicone, and the
    Cosmetic Ingredient Review classifies it as a “skin-conditioning
    agent—occlusive” and antifoaming agent
    (CIR
    Final Report, Methicones, March 2022
    ). It provides a smooth, non-greasy film
    and slows water loss from the skin surface. It is the primary skin-feel
    ingredient in the formula — the second-largest thing in the jar — and
    it is not hyaluronic acid.

    Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer sits at position four.
    It is a silicone elastomer. The CIR lists dimethicone crosspolymers as “film
    formers, skin-conditioning agents—emollient, slip modifiers… viscosity
    increasing agents”
    (CIR
    Final Report, Dimethicone Crosspolymers, September 2012
    ). Translated: this is
    the ingredient that turns a liquid into that springy, bouncy gel texture. There
    is a third silicone gel-former, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, at position eleven.

    The gel you press into your skin is a silicone elastomer gel. The
    “water” in “water gel” is real — water is the first
    ingredient — but the springy feel is silicone, and the actual humectant
    drawing water toward your skin is glycerin at position three, not the HA at
    fifteen.

    Position Ingredient What it does
    2 Dimethicone Silicone occlusive; the smooth, non-greasy film and skin feel
    3 Glycerin Humectant; the actual water-binding workhorse here
    4 Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer Silicone elastomer; builds the springy gel texture
    6 Polyacrylamide Film-forming polymer; carries a residual-monomer flag (below)
    15 Sodium Hyaluronate The marketed hero; a humectant, low on the list

    None of this makes it a bad moisturizer. Dimethicone is a genuinely good
    skin-feel and occlusive ingredient, glycerin is one of the best-studied humectants
    there is, and the product feels pleasant for a reason. The point is narrower and
    fairer: it is a silicone-and-glycerin gel with a small amount of hyaluronic acid,
    sold as a hyaluronic acid gel. If you bought it for the HA, you mostly bought the
    dimethicone.

    Nib runs a pencil down a numbered ingredient list and stops near the top at two large drums marked Dimethicone and a crosspolymer, far bigger than a small droplet lower down.
    Positions two and four, both silicone. This is where the gel feel actually comes from.

    What is polyacrylamide doing at position six?

    Nine places above the hyaluronic acid, at position six, is polyacrylamide
    — a film-forming and thickening polymer. It is common, and it is legal in
    the United States. It is worth a sentence for one reason, and it is a regulatory
    note, not an alarm.

    Polyacrylamide is made from acrylamide monomer, and a tiny amount of
    unreacted monomer can remain in the finished polymer. The CIR’s safety
    assessment concluded polyacrylamide is safe as used when residual acrylamide is
    kept at or below 5 ppm in the finished formula, and it notes plainly that
    acrylamide itself is “a demonstrated neurotoxin in humans and a carcinogen
    in animal tests” — while concluding that the levels attainable from
    cosmetic use at those limits do not reach that threshold
    (CIR
    Polyacrylamide re-review, 2022
    ). The EU is stricter, capping residual
    acrylamide at 0.1 ppm for leave-on products. The polymer itself does not
    penetrate skin; the residual monomer can.

    We are not going to tell you this product is dangerous — that is not
    what the CIR found and it is not ours to say. What we can tell you is what the
    regulators wrote and where the limits sit, and let you read the assessment
    yourself. No public test data for the actual monomer level in this specific
    product was available to us.

    Nib peers through the magnifying glass at a single tiny droplet marked HA at position fifteen, sitting just below a small bottle labelled Phenoxyethanol.
    The hero ingredient at fifteen, tucked in below a preservative Europe caps at one percent.

    Does the low position mean the HA does nothing?

    No — and this is where being fair matters more than being harsh.
    Hyaluronic acid is effective at strikingly low concentrations. In a 60-day
    randomized controlled trial, formulations containing just 0.1% sodium hyaluronate
    across a range of molecular weights produced statistically significant
    improvements in skin hydration and elasticity versus placebo
    (Pavicic et al., J Drugs
    Dermatol, 2011
    ). So the criticism here is not “there’s
    too little HA to do anything.” A tenth of a percent can measurably do
    something.

    The honest criticism is about naming and positioning. The product is named
    for, priced on, and marketed around hyaluronic acid, while the formula that
    actually determines how it feels and behaves is led by silicone and glycerin,
    with HA as a minor component near the bottom of the list. You’re paying a
    hero-ingredient price for a supporting-ingredient amount — and mostly
    paying for dimethicone.

    Two more label notes for the careful reader. Fragrance sits at position
    seventeen; fragrance is a known contact-sensitization risk for some people, so if
    you react to scented products, this is a fragranced formula. And the springy
    blue-green tint comes from Blue 1 at the very bottom, position twenty —
    purely cosmetic. There is a separate fragrance-free Hydro Boost Gel Cream
    with an entirely different formula, in which sodium hyaluronate sits far
    higher, at position six, alongside amino acids and sodium PCA. That is a
    different product with a different story; today’s reading is the original
    fragranced Water Gel only.

    Nib taps the pencil against an open reference book, next to a small vial marked 0.1% with a checkmark, nodding thoughtfully.
    A fair note from the desk: hyaluronic acid does real work even at a tenth of a percent.

    How do you read any ingredient list this way yourself?

    The method here is not special to Neutrogena, and you do not need a chemistry
    background for it. Find the actual ingredient list — the long one, not the
    “key ingredients” callout the brand writes. Ingredients are listed in
    descending order of weight down to about the 1% mark, so where a name sits is a
    rough proxy for how much is in the jar. Then find the ingredient the front of the
    package is selling and see how far down it is. A useful shortcut: locate the
    preservative — here, phenoxyethanol, which the EU caps at 1% — and
    anything below it is present at roughly a percent or less.

    If the hero is in the top few names, the marketing and the formula agree. If
    it is fifteenth, below the preservative, they do not, and something cheaper is
    usually doing the work the label credits to the hero. If what you actually want is
    a moisturizer where the thing on the front is the thing doing the work, that is a
    different kind of product — we make a beef-tallow one, and here is exactly
    what a tallow moisturizer is and how it differs:
    what’s in a
    tallow moisturizer
    . Full disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team
    behind Evil Goods, so read that knowing it is ours — but it is the honest
    next question after this one.

    FAQ

    Where is the hyaluronic acid in Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel?
    On the original fragranced formula, sodium hyaluronate is the fifteenth of twenty
    ingredients, listed after phenoxyethanol — a preservative the EU caps at
    1%. On a label ordered by weight, that places the HA near the bottom, most likely
    under 1%.

    What is actually building the gel in Hydro Boost?
    Silicone. Dimethicone is the second ingredient and a dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone
    crosspolymer is the fourth; a third silicone crosspolymer sits at eleven. The
    springy “water gel” texture is a silicone elastomer gel. Glycerin at
    position three is the main humectant.

    Does the low position mean there is too little HA to work?
    No. Hyaluronic acid is effective at very low levels — a 2011 randomized
    trial found measurable hydration and elasticity gains from 0.1% sodium
    hyaluronate. The fair criticism is that the product is named and priced on HA
    while the formula is led by silicone and glycerin.

    What about the polyacrylamide at position six?
    It is a film-forming polymer. The CIR found it safe as used when residual
    acrylamide monomer is kept at or below 5 ppm; the EU limit is 0.1 ppm for leave-on
    products. We link the CIR assessment so you can read the finding yourself. No
    public test data for this specific product’s monomer level was available.

    Is the fragrance-free Hydro Boost the same formula?
    No. The fragrance-free Gel Cream variant has a different formula in
    which sodium hyaluronate sits much higher, at position six, alongside amino acids
    and sodium PCA. This analysis is only about the original fragranced Water Gel.

    Nib sets down the magnifying glass, closes a little notebook titled Ingredient Desk, and gives a small satisfied nod beside the fully-read blue label.
    Label read, front claim checked against the back. The HA is real. The gel you feel is mostly silicone.