Tag: niacinamide

  • Olay Vitamin C + Peptide 24 Serum: The Vitamin C Is the 7th Ingredient

    On the label of the Olay Vitamin C +
    Peptide 24 Brightening Serum, the vitamin C — printed as 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic
    Acid, a derivative that has to convert to active ascorbic acid inside the skin
    — is the seventh ingredient. Niacinamide, the well-studied brightener Olay
    built its Regenerist line on, is the fourth. Niacinamide is not named anywhere in
    the product title.

    “Vitamin C serum” is one of the most-searched things in skincare, and Olay is
    one of the biggest drugstore brands in the United States, so a serum called
    Vitamin C + Peptide 24 is doing a lot of work with its name. The name
    invites exactly one thing: read the label all the way down and see where the two
    named actives on the front — the vitamin C and the peptide — actually
    land.

    Pencil sketch of Nib, a small round creature, holding a magnifying glass up to a slim serum bottle labelled VITAMIN C + PEPTIDE 24.
    Nib picks up the bottle with two actives on the front and starts reading at ingredient one.

    Where does the vitamin C actually sit?

    Here is the full ingredient list, as published on INCI Decoder
    (product entry,
    uploaded 2022-05-27, read 2026-09-15) and matching separate Amazon retail
    listings for the standard 1.3 fl oz serum:

    Water, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Niacinamide, Lactic Acid,
    Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C),
    Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Peptide), Panthenol, Trehalose,
    PEG-11 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Benzoate, Fragrance.

    Ingredients are listed in descending order of concentration down to the 1%
    threshold, below which a manufacturer may list them in any order (US FDA, 21 CFR
    701.3). Reading from the top, the vitamin C — 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid
    — is number seven, sitting behind water, two humectant/texture agents,
    niacinamide, an exfoliating acid and a thickener. The peptide is number eight.
    Everything above them, except the niacinamide, is solvent, humectant or structure.

    # Ingredient What it is
    1 Water Solvent — the base of the serum
    2 Glycerin Humectant
    3 Dimethicone Silicone — slip and texture
    4 Niacinamide Well-studied brightening and barrier agent — unnamed on the front
    5 Lactic Acid AHA exfoliant / pH adjuster
    6 Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6 Synthetic thickener
    7 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid The “Vitamin C” on the label — a derivative
    8 Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 The “Peptide 24” — also known as Matrixyl
    14 Fragrance Perfuming — a documented contact allergen

    None of this is hidden. It is printed on the side of every bottle. But the
    front and the back tell slightly different stories, and the back is the one that
    governs what your skin meets first.

    Pencil sketch of Nib tapping a pencil on the seventh line of a numbered ingredient list, where the words VITAMIN C are circled.
    Seven lines down, past niacinamide and a thickener, Nib finds the named vitamin C.

    Is 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid the same as vitamin C?

    Not quite, and this is the part that makes the label genuinely interesting
    rather than just underwhelming. Pure vitamin C is L-ascorbic acid. What is in
    this serum is 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, an ether derivative — a more stable
    molecule that the skin has to convert back into ascorbic acid before it does the
    vitamin-C job. A 2024 review in Pharmaceutics
    (Stamford-style derivative review, 2024)
    states plainly that vitamin C derivatives “must be converted to ascorbic acid
    in vivo in order to be effective.”

    The derivative does reach the skin: an in-vitro study on porcine skin
    (Int. J. Cosmet. Sci., 2019)
    confirms 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid penetrates. So this is not a case of an
    ingredient that does nothing. The honest framing is narrower than that: the
    molecule on the label is a derivative that needs converting, Olay does not
    publish how much of it is in the bottle, and its position at #7 —
    just below a thickener, and behind five other ingredients — suggests it is
    not present at a dominant percentage. How much active ascorbic acid results after
    conversion is not disclosed.

    Pencil sketch of Nib holding two small jars side by side, one labelled DERIVATIVE and one labelled ASCORBIC ACID, with a small arrow drawn between them.
    A derivative up front, active vitamin C only after the skin converts it. Nib keeps the two straight.

    What is doing the brightening work, then?

    If you are buying this serum to fade dark spots, the ingredient with the
    strongest evidence for that job is not the one on the front of the bottle. It is
    niacinamide, at position #4 — above both named actives. Niacinamide’s
    brightening evidence is unusually good for a cosmetic ingredient: a split-face
    randomised trial
    (Hakozaki et al., Br. J. Dermatology, 2002)
    found 5% niacinamide significantly reduced hyperpigmented area versus vehicle
    after 4 and 8 weeks. A later mechanistic review
    (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2021)
    notes it works at roughly 4–5% but that 2% is not reliably effective.

    We cannot read a percentage off an INCI list, and Olay does not publish one.
    But niacinamide at #4 — ahead of the exfoliant, the thickener and both
    named heroes — is consistent with a meaningful level, and it is the same
    brightener Olay’s Regenerist patents are built around. The peptide,
    Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl), is a legitimately studied anti-ageing
    peptide, though mostly in small studies; at #8 it is present in a low
    position on the list. The upshot: the serum’s most evidence-backed brightening ingredient is
    the one the name never mentions, and the two ingredients the name is built around
    sit seventh and eighth.

    Pencil sketch of Nib weighing a small vitamin C bottle against a larger jar labelled NIACINAMIDE on an old balance scale, the niacinamide side dipping lower.
    Nib weighs the named actives against the unnamed niacinamide sitting three lines above them.

    So what does the “24” mean?

    Not an ingredient count, not 24% vitamin C, and not a peptide
    variant. Olay’s own product copy says the serum delivers “24-hour hydration,” so
    the number refers to how long the marketing says it moisturizes, not to anything
    about the actives. It is a hydration claim wearing the costume of a
    concentration figure — and the meanings people most reasonably assume —
    a strength, or how many things are in the bottle — are exactly what it does
    not signal.

    Reading a peptide as “#8 on the list” is really a question about formulation
    priority: what did the formulator decide to put the most of? Here the answer is
    water, glycerin, silicone and niacinamide, and then the things on the front of
    the bottle. If you would rather buy a serum whose hero ingredient sits at the top
    of its own list, that is the thing we make: our
    Copper Peptide Blue Honey Serum
    leads with copper peptides, hyaluronic acid and Manuka honey rather than
    silicone and thickener. (Disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team
    behind Evil Goods, and that is our serum.)

    Is there anything on the label worth watching for?

    Two points, stated with their real strength rather than as alarms.

    Fragrance. Fragrance is the last ingredient, #14.
    Fragrance is a category, not a single molecule, and US labels are not required to
    break it into its component allergens. It is also among the most common contact
    allergens in cosmetics; a 2024 patch-test review
    (Lynde & Lindberg, 2024)
    puts fragrance contact-allergy prevalence at roughly 4.5% of the general
    population and higher among people already prone to dermatitis. Most
    people use fragranced serums without any trouble — but if you are shopping
    for a face serum precisely because your skin reacts easily, an added fragrance is
    worth knowing sits in the formula.

    The derivative itself. One case report of allergic contact
    dermatitis to 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid exists in the literature (Yagami et al.,
    Contact Dermatitis, 2014). A single case is not a pattern and should not
    be read as one; it is worth a sentence only because the ingredient is the named
    hero. If a new active irritates you, patch-testing a small area first is the
    ordinary sensible move with any serum.

    If you want the reasoning rather than the pitch, we have also written up
    how to build a copper peptide serum routine,
    which walks through what “hero ingredient first” actually buys you and where it
    does not matter.

    The short version

    Olay’s Vitamin C + Peptide 24 Serum names two actives on the front and lists
    them seventh and eighth. The vitamin C is a derivative that has to convert in the
    skin, at an undisclosed and probably modest level. The ingredient with the best
    brightening evidence — niacinamide — sits three lines higher and is
    not named at all. The “24” is a hydration-duration claim, not a strength. None of
    that is hidden; it is all on the label, in descending order, waiting to be read.

    Pencil sketch of Nib closing a notebook, the serum bottle set down beside a page reading number 7, satisfied at having read the label to the end.
    Label read to the last line. Nib closes the notebook: the front said two, the list said seventh and eighth.
  • Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream: Niacinamide Is the 11th Ingredient

    Cetaphil rebuilt its Moisturizing Cream in 2021 and now leads every ad with niacinamide. On the label, niacinamide is the 11th name on a list that runs to twenty-three — sitting after the emulsifiers, the silicones and a fatty alcohol. The pair doing the actual moisturizing, glycerin and petrolatum, are second and third, and they did not change. So the new formula is largely the old workhorse with a niacinamide story wrapped around it.

    Cetaphil is one of the three creams US dermatologists name most often for dry skin, alongside CeraVe and Vanicream. The Moisturizing Cream is its flagship tub. In 2021 the brand reformulated it: out went the parabens, in came niacinamide, panthenol and sweet almond oil. Every piece of marketing now opens with “a dermatologist-backed blend of niacinamide.” The label tells a slightly different story about where that niacinamide falls in line — and it is worth reading in order.

    A disclosure before we go on: Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil Goods, a tallow skincare brand. We read labels for a living and we sell an alternative for dry skin. We will point at ours once, clearly labelled, near the end. Everything about Cetaphil below comes from Cetaphil’s own US page, a retail listing, and the peer-reviewed literature — dated and linked so you can check us.

    Nib, a small round pencil-sketch creature, holds a magnifying glass up to an oversized tub of moisturizing cream, squinting at the tiny ingredient list running down the side of the jar.
    Nib does the thing most of us skip at the shelf: reads the whole list, in order.

    What does the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream label actually say?

    Here is the full ingredient list, quoted verbatim from Cetaphil’s own US product page (cetaphil.com, read 11 September 2026). The same list, in the same order, appears on the Ulta retail listing:

    Water, Glycerin, Petrolatum, Dicaprylyl Ether, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Peg-30 Stearate, Panthenol, Niacinamide, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Pantolactone, Dimethiconol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Carbomer, Propylene Glycol, Disodium Edta, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide, Citric Acid

    Ingredient lists are ordered by descending concentration down to roughly 1%, after which the order stops meaning much. Cetaphil’s page notes that formulas are updated and asks you to check the physical package, so treat this as the list on the brand’s US site on the date above rather than an eternal truth. This is the current, post-2021, paraben-free formula; the number on your own tub is the only source that settles what is in it today.

    Nib stands beside a tall pencil-drawn bar chart; the three tallest bars near the front are labelled water, glycerin and petrolatum, while a small bar labelled niacinamide sits far back in eleventh place.
    The first three entries build the cream. Niacinamide, the ingredient on the front of the box, arrives in eleventh.

    Where does the niacinamide actually sit?

    Niacinamide is name number eleven, on a list that ends at twenty-three. In front of it are water, glycerin, petrolatum, an emollient ether, the silicones, an emulsifier, a fatty alcohol, a seed oil, another emulsifier (PEG-30 stearate, typically used at roughly 1–3%), and panthenol. In other words, the lead marketing ingredient falls into the second half of the formula, just behind an emulsifier that itself sits at a low single-digit percentage.

    Cetaphil does not disclose the niacinamide concentration, and we are not going to invent one. What position #11 tells you is only this: it is below the ingredients ahead of it, one of which is used at about 1–3%. The independent clinical literature on niacinamide clusters its measured effects at 2–5%. A 2006 study in the Journal of Cosmetic and Laser Therapy (Draelos et al., PMID 16766489) tested 2% on facial sebum; a 2000 paper in the British Journal of Dermatology (Tanno et al., PMID 10971324) showed nicotinamide raising ceramide biosynthesis in skin at similar concentrations. Whether Cetaphil’s cream lands inside that window is not something the label lets you know. The inference is yours to draw; we will not put a number on it that the brand itself declines to.

    Nib peers through the magnifying glass at a single small jar labelled niacinamide, a question mark drawn above it, with a faint percent sign scribbled out beside the jar.
    Present, yes. At what percentage? The label does not say, so neither do we.

    So what is actually moisturizing your skin?

    The answer is in the first three lines. Glycerin at #2 is a humectant — it pulls water toward the skin. Petrolatum at #3 is the occlusive that seals it in. That pairing is the whole of the cream’s long-hydration story, and it is worth being precise about petrolatum, because “petroleum byproduct” alarms people more than the evidence justifies.

    Petrolatum is an FDA-recognized OTC skin protectant (21 CFR § 347.10), permitted as an active at 30–100% in that category. In Cetaphil’s cream it is listed as a cosmetic ingredient rather than a labelled active, but the regulatory grounding for what it does is well established, and it is one of the best-evidenced barrier ingredients in dermatology. Crucially, glycerin and petrolatum sat at the top of the pre-2021 formula too. The reformulation added niacinamide, panthenol, sweet almond oil and vitamin E on top of a chassis that was already a competent dry-skin moisturizer. The new box is not a new cream so much as a new narrative around the same opening entries — which is not a criticism of the cream, only of reading the front of the box instead of the side.

    Nib sits cross-legged reading a long unfurled ingredient scroll, nodding approvingly at the top three lines while the lower entries trail off the edge of the paper.
    The top of the list is doing the work. It is the same top of the list it had before the relaunch.

    Is there anything a “sensitive skin” buyer should note?

    One entry is worth a calm mention. Propylene glycol appears at position #18 — a humectant and solvent, present here at a low concentration given where it falls in the list. It is worth flagging only because this cream is marketed as hypoallergenic and for sensitive skin, and propylene glycol has a documented, if modest, contact-allergy rate. It is a well-characterised skin sensitiser reviewed in the dermatology literature (Dermatitis, 2018, PMID 29059092), with cosmetics the most common exposure route. A low position reduces that risk; it does not erase it. This is not a claim that the product harms anyone — most people use propylene glycol formulas with no trouble at all — only a note that a sensitiser with a known patch-test signal is on the list of a product sold specifically to sensitive skin.

    What the formula does not contain is also worth a line. There are no ceramides and no hyaluronic acid, the pair that define its shelf-neighbours CeraVe and Neutrogena Hydro Boost. Cetaphil’s barrier support comes from petrolatum and glycerin instead, with niacinamide potentially assisting at whatever level it is present. That is a legitimate approach with strong evidence — it is simply a different one from what the packaging’s ingredient-forward language implies.

    What should you actually take from the label?

    Read the order, not the front. On this tub, the entries you can be confident are doing the heavy lifting — glycerin and petrolatum — are second and third, and they are the same ones the cream had before its 2021 relaunch. The niacinamide the marketing leads with is eleventh, at a percentage the brand does not disclose and the label cannot confirm sits in niacinamide’s evidenced range. None of that makes it a bad cream. It makes it a petrolatum-and-glycerin cream with a niacinamide label.

    If you are here because your dry skin wants an occlusive that seals moisture in and you would rather it come from an animal fat than a petroleum derivative, that is the whole argument behind our own tallow for dry skin — grass-fed beef tallow, which is naturally rich in the fatty acids skin uses. We are not going to tell you it out-performs petrolatum in a trial, because that trial is not ours to cite. We will tell you honestly that it is a different occlusive with a much shorter research record, and let you weigh that against a cream whose active backbone is a well-studied petroleum jelly.

    Frequently asked questions

    Where is niacinamide on the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream ingredient list? It is the 11th name on the list, which runs to twenty-three, after water, glycerin, petrolatum, an emollient ether, the silicones, an emulsifier, a fatty alcohol, a seed oil, a second emulsifier and panthenol.

    Did Cetaphil change the formula? Yes. In 2021 the brand removed parabens and added niacinamide, panthenol, sweet almond oil and vitamin E. Glycerin and petrolatum, the top of the list, were unchanged.

    What is the strongest moisturizer in the formula? By position, glycerin (#2, a humectant) and petrolatum (#3, an occlusive). Petrolatum is an FDA-recognized OTC skin protectant.

    What percentage is the niacinamide? Cetaphil does not disclose it. Position #11 puts it below an emulsifier typically used at 1–3%; the independent literature clusters niacinamide’s measured effects at 2–5%. The label does not let you confirm where this cream falls.

    Nib closes a small notebook and gives a thumbs-up beside the tub of cream, the ingredient scroll rolled neatly under one arm, satisfied at having read the whole list.
    Read the order, not the front of the box. The label was telling the truth the whole time.
  • Olay Regenerist: Niacinamide Is #4. The Peptide Is #11.

    On the ingredient list read for Olay Regenerist
    Micro-Sculpting Cream on 6 September 2026, niacinamide sits at position
    four — high up, in the range where it does real work — so the front
    of the jar is telling the truth about the B3. But the “Amino-Peptide”
    the marketing leans on, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, is eleventh, behind a synthetic
    polymer and a silicone, and the hyaluronic acid is thirteenth. Two of the three
    headline actives sit in the trace band near the bottom of the formula. The
    unusual part: this particular peptide is supposed to be a trace, so
    “it’s low on the list” is not the same as “it does
    nothing.”

    Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream — the “Red Jar” —
    is one of the best-selling anti-aging face creams in American mass retail,
    stocked across the big drugstore and supercenter chains. Its whole pitch is a complex: Vitamin B3,
    Amino-Peptides, Hyaluronic Acid and antioxidants, all named on the front. It is a
    tidy, believable list of the ingredients a good moisturizer should have.

    The back of the jar — the actual list, ordered by weight down to about
    the one-percent mark — lets you see where each of those four actually
    lands. We read the whole thing. One of the four earns its billing. Two are near
    the bottom. Here is where everything sits, and why the low positions mean
    different things for different ingredients.

    One note before the list: Olay has more than one formula in circulation.
    This analysis is of the original formula still described on most retailer
    listings, sourced below. A newer “triple collagen peptide” version
    appears on olay.com; if the jar in your hand names three peptides and no
    hyaluronic acid, you have the reformulated one, and the positions here will
    differ. Check your own label.

    Where does each marketed active actually land on the label?

    Here is the full list, quoted verbatim. It was retrieved from the Ulta Beauty
    product listing for Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream (SKU 2147262) via the
    search index on 6 September 2026 — Ulta blocks direct scraping, so
    direct URLs return a 404, but the identical forty-name string appeared across
    four separate Ulta result snippets and is corroborated by the Walmart.com listing
    for the same product, read the same day. Olay notes formulas are subject to
    change, so confirm against the packaging on the jar you buy:

    Water, Glycerin, Isohexadecane, Niacinamide, Isopropyl Isostearate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Nylon-12, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceratonia Siliqua (Carob) Fruit Extract, Stearyl Alcohol, Polyethylene, Cetyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Sodium Acrylates Copolymer, Titanium Dioxide, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Dimethiconol, Polyacrylamide, Fragrance, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylparaben, Cetearyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, C12-13 Pareth-3, Laureth-7, Sodium Hydroxide, Mica.

    Now place the four headline actives on it:

    Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
    Position 4 — high, likely a functional amount
    Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (the “Amino-Peptide”)
    Position 11 — trace, which for this peptide is the working range
    Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid)
    Position 13 — in the ≤1% band
    Tocopheryl Acetate (the antioxidant)
    Position 10 — a cheap, abundant vitamin E ester
    Source of list
    Ulta listing (SKU 2147262) via search index, 6 Sep 2026; corroborated at Walmart.com

    Ingredients are listed in descending order of weight down to roughly the
    one-percent mark, so position is a rough proxy for how much is in the jar. Two
    positions do most of the storytelling here: niacinamide at four, and the peptide
    at eleven with the HA at thirteen. They mean opposite things, and the honest
    version of this piece treats them differently.

    Nib the small round pencil-sketch creature holds a magnifying glass up to a squat red jar labelled Regenerist, squinting at the tiny ingredient type on the back rather than the big Vitamin B3 and Amino-Peptides wording on the front.
    The front sells a whole complex. Nib flips the Red Jar over to read where each name really lands.

    Does niacinamide earn its place at number four?

    Yes, and it is worth saying so plainly before getting to the parts that are
    overstated. Niacinamide at position four, above the emulsifiers, the peptide, the
    HA and the fragrance, is consistent with a meaningful concentration —
    probably in the low single digits by percentage, though Olay does not disclose a
    number, so “probably” is the strongest word warranted.

    That matters because niacinamide is one of the better-supported cosmetic
    actives for the things this cream is sold to do. The anchor study is a
    twelve-week, fifty-subject randomized trial by Bissett and colleagues (2004),
    which reported improvements in fine lines, texture and hyperpigmentation from a
    5% niacinamide formulation. The evidence base sits roughly in the 2–5%
    range. Position four is compatible with that band. So when Olay puts “Vitamin
    B3” on the front and niacinamide near the top of the list, the marketing and
    the formula agree. That is the honest starting point, and it is not nothing
    — plenty of creams name an ingredient on the front that turns up in the
    trace tail.

    Position Ingredient What it does
    2 Glycerin Humectant; the main water-binding workhorse
    4 Niacinamide Vitamin B3; the marketed hero, high enough to be functional
    8 Dimethicone Silicone emollient; the smooth skin feel
    11 Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 The “Amino-Peptide”; a trace ingredient by design
    13 Sodium Hyaluronate Hyaluronic acid salt; a supporting humectant in the ≤1% band

    The base doing the sensory work is conventional and fine: water, glycerin,
    branched-alkane and ester emollients (isohexadecane at #3, isopropyl isostearate
    at #5), an absorbent starch for that dry, powdery finish (#6), a slip polymer
    (nylon-12, #7) and dimethicone (#8). That is a competent mass-market moisturizer
    base. Nothing wrong with it. It is just not the part on the front of the jar.

    Nib runs a pencil down a numbered ingredient list and taps a big drum labelled Niacinamide near the top at position four, nodding approvingly.
    Niacinamide at number four. High up, a functional amount, and the marketing is telling the truth here.

    Why is the “Amino-Peptide” all the way down at eleven?

    This is where it would be easy to be unfair, so here is the careful version.
    Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 — the ingredient Olay markets as the
    “Amino-Peptide,” better known in the trade as Matrixyl — sits at
    position eleven, behind a synthetic polymer (nylon-12), a silicone (dimethicone),
    panthenol and the vitamin E ester. By volume it is almost certainly a trace
    ingredient.

    The trap is concluding that trace means useless. For this particular peptide,
    it does not. The published clinical work uses it at strikingly tiny
    concentrations: a peptides-in-skincare review tabulates the palmitoyl
    pentapeptide-4 trial formulation at 0.0003%
    (Peptides in
    skincare, PMC, 2025
    ), and the industry’s own safety panel reports the
    highest leave-on cosmetic use concentration at 0.0012%
    (CIR
    Safety Assessment, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, 2023
    ). Three parts per million is
    the dose that showed an effect. So a peptide sitting at position eleven, at a
    trace level, is behaving exactly as the literature says it should. Position eleven
    is not evidence this peptide is inert.

    The fair criticism is narrower, and it is about emphasis, not efficacy. The
    marketing gives “Amino-Peptides” roughly equal billing with the B3 on
    the front of the jar, as though they were comparable pillars of the formula. In
    the list, one is at four and the other is a trace at eleven. Both facts can be
    true — the peptide works at trace levels and the front-of-jar
    prominence is louder than its share of the formula. What you cannot tell from the
    label, because Olay does not disclose it, is whether the peptide is at the
    0.0003% that was studied or somewhere else entirely. The position tells you it is
    small; it cannot tell you it is the studied dose.

    Nib peers through the magnifying glass at a single tiny droplet marked Peptide at position eleven, sitting behind larger barrels labelled Nylon and Dimethicone.
    The Amino-Peptide at eleven, tucked in behind a synthetic polymer and a silicone. Tiny by volume, by design.

    What about the hyaluronic acid at thirteen?

    Sodium hyaluronate — the INCI name for hyaluronic acid — is at
    position thirteen, in the part of the label where everything is present at about
    one percent or less. Like the peptide, HA works at low concentrations, so a low
    position is not proof of a token amount. But there is a wrinkle worth one honest
    sentence.

    Some current retailer pages still market this product as containing
    “Hyaluronic Acid” as a key ingredient, while the newer formula listed
    on olay.com does not appear to include sodium hyaluronate at all. On the original
    formula quoted above, the HA is genuinely present at position thirteen. If you
    have picked up the reformulated jar, it may not be in there despite the shelf tag
    — which is exactly the kind of thing worth checking on your own label
    rather than taking from a retailer’s marketing copy. We could not resolve
    the discrepancy without a physical label read, so we are flagging it, not
    asserting it.

    If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the things named on the front
    are the things doing the bulk of the work — no trace tail to squint at
    — that is a different kind of product. We make a beef-tallow one: here is
    the Evil Goods
    tallow moisturizer
    , built from grass-fed tallow, Manuka honey, cold-pressed
    olive oil and vitamin E, with no under-one-percent list to read. Full disclosure:
    Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil Goods, so read that link
    knowing it is ours. The contrast we are drawing is about label structure —
    a short list versus a forty-name one — not a claim that one cream
    out-performs the other, which would need a study neither product has.

    Nib holds a small stoppered vial marked Fragrance up to the light next to an open reference book, eyebrows raised, reading a patch-test chart.
    Down at twenty-seven sits Fragrance, the one line on the label the desk always reads twice.

    Is the fragrance at position twenty-seven worth noting?

    For a leave-on cream applied twice a day, yes, once, with the strength of the
    evidence and no more. “Fragrance” sits at position twenty-seven on
    this list. Fragrance is the most common cause of cosmetic contact allergy, and
    the prevalence is measurable rather than hypothetical: patch-test literature puts
    fragrance contact allergy at roughly 0.7–2.6% of the general population, and
    substantially higher — into the 5–11% range and above — among
    people who get patch-tested for dermatitis
    (Mowitz et al., contact
    dermatitis to fragrances, 2020
    ;
    fragrance contact
    allergy review, PMC, 2024
    ).

    Read that the right way. Fragrance at position twenty-seven does not mean this
    cream will irritate your skin, and it does not mean it has harmed anyone —
    most people use fragranced moisturizers without any trouble, and the amount here
    is undisclosed. What it means is that a daily-use, leave-on product carries a
    declared fragrance, and if your skin reacts to scented skincare, that is
    information you want before you commit to applying it morning and night. The label
    tells you; the front of the jar, which leads with actives, does not.

    One more label detail for the careful reader: this formula carries three
    parabens — methylparaben (#23), ethylparaben (#24) and propylparaben (#29).
    Parabens are among the most-studied cosmetic preservatives and are permitted at
    regulated levels; their presence is a formulation choice worth knowing about, not
    a verdict. The newer olay.com formula swaps them for phenoxyethanol, which is one
    of the clearer signals that you are holding a reformulated jar.

    How do you read any ingredient list this way yourself?

    The method needs no chemistry background and works on any product. Find the
    real ingredient list — the long one on the back, not the “key
    ingredients” callout the brand writes for you. It is ordered by weight down
    to about the one-percent mark, so where a name sits is a rough proxy for how much
    is in the jar. Then take each ingredient the front is selling and find how far
    down it actually is.

    Two shortcuts help. First, once you hit a run of things at trace levels
    — PEG emulsifiers, EDTA, a single fragrance line, preservatives — you
    are into the under-one-percent tail, and everything from there down is present at
    roughly a percent or less each. Second, and this is the part most people miss: a
    low position does not automatically damn an ingredient. Some actives, like
    palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, genuinely work at trace amounts, so “it’s
    near the bottom” needs a second question — is this an ingredient that
    works low, or one that has simply been added in a token amount so it can go on the
    front of the box?

    For Olay Regenerist, the answer splits cleanly. Niacinamide at four is doing
    real work at a real amount, and the front of the jar is honest about it. The
    peptide at eleven is a trace, which for that peptide is fine, but the marketing
    bills it as a co-star. The HA at thirteen is small and, on the newer formula, may
    be gone. Read the label and it tells you which of the four names you are actually
    paying for. The marketing department writes the front; it does not get to rewrite
    the back.

    FAQ

    Does Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream have niacinamide, and how
    much?

    On the original-formula list read on 6 September 2026, niacinamide is
    the fourth ingredient of about forty — high enough to be a functional
    amount, most likely in the 2–5% range that the research supports, though
    Olay does not disclose the number.

    Where is the peptide on the label, and does its low position mean it
    does not work?

    Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, the “Amino-Peptide,” is at position eleven.
    That is a trace level — but published trials use this peptide at about
    0.0003%, so trace is its working range. The low position is not evidence it is
    inert; the fair point is that the marketing bills it as a co-star to the B3 while
    it is a fraction of the formula by volume.

    Does the cream contain hyaluronic acid?
    On the original formula, sodium hyaluronate is at position thirteen, in the
    under-one-percent band. A newer “triple collagen peptide” formula on
    olay.com does not appear to list it, even though some retailer pages still market
    hyaluronic acid as a key ingredient. Check your own label to see which version
    you have.

    Should I worry about the fragrance in it?
    Fragrance is at position twenty-seven. Fragrance is the most common cause of
    cosmetic contact allergy — roughly 0.7–2.6% of the general population,
    higher among people patch-tested for dermatitis. That is worth knowing for a
    twice-daily leave-on product if your skin reacts to scent; it is not proof the
    cream will irritate you, and the amount is undisclosed.

    Why are there two different ingredient lists for this product?
    Olay has an original formula (with parabens, nylon-12 and sodium hyaluronate) and
    a reformulated “triple collagen peptide” version (three peptides,
    phenoxyethanol instead of parabens, and no listed hyaluronic acid) in
    circulation. This analysis is of the original. The quickest tell: three parabens
    means the original; phenoxyethanol and three peptides means the reformulated one.

    Nib sets down the magnifying glass, closes a little notebook titled Ingredient Desk, and gives a small satisfied nod beside the fully-read red label.
    Label read, front claim checked against the back. The B3 is real; the peptide is a trace; the HA is small.