Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion takes its name from
the oat — “Aveeno” comes from Avena, the oat genus
— but on the fragrance-free body formula, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour
is the seventh of ten ingredients. Six names come before it, including petrolatum
at position four. The ingredient the FDA registers as this product’s active
skin protectant is not oat at all: it is dimethicone, boxed in the Drug Facts at
1.2%. The oat is an inactive.
Aveeno is one of the moisturizers US dermatologists reach for most, and its
whole identity is oats: the brand is literally named after the oat, and the
bottle is sold as Daily Moisturizing Lotion “with Soothing Oat.” That
is the front of the bottle. The back — the ingredient list, ordered roughly
by weight, and the Drug Facts box, which is a legal document — tells a more
precise story, and it is one you can check in about a minute.
We read the whole label. Here is where everything actually sits.
Where does the oat actually land on the label?
Here is the full inactive list, quoted verbatim from the product page at
Ulta.com,
read on 4 September 2026 (HTTP 200), and cross-checked against the FDA-submitted
label on
DailyMed
(NIH; last updated July 2025). Both agree, and a third US retail listing matches:
Water, Glycerin, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Petrolatum, Isopropyl Palmitate, Cetyl Alcohol, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour, Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Chloride.
Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour is the seventh name on that list of ten. It
appears after water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride, petrolatum, isopropyl
palmitate and cetyl alcohol. On a label ordered by weight, a brand’s
namesake ingredient in seventh place sits well below the top of the formula
— below the occlusive, the emollients and the emulsifier that give the
lotion its body and slip.
One detail matters before we go further. This is the specific SKU we read: the
fragrance-free Daily Moisturizing body lotion (NDC 69968-0454). Aveeno’s
other products — the Skin Relief version, the face lotion, the scented
variants — have different lists and the oat sits at different positions, so
this analysis is about this bottle only.
- Marketed hero
- Oat (“with Soothing Oat”)
- Position on label
- Seventh of ten (Avena Sativa Oat Kernel Flour)
- Registered active
- Dimethicone 1.2% — skin protectant, per the Drug Facts box
- Source of list
- Ulta.com, read 4 Sep 2026; DailyMed FDA-submitted label

So what is the FDA-registered active in Aveeno?
This is the part the front of the bottle does not lead with. Aveeno Daily
Moisturizing Lotion is not filed as a cosmetic. It is a Human OTC
Drug, and every OTC drug has a Drug Facts box that names one or more
active ingredients. On this product, the
FDA-submitted
label lists exactly one active:
Active ingredient: Dimethicone 1.2% — Purpose: Skin protectant
Dimethicone is a silicone. It sits at position eight in the inactive-order
reading of the combined list, but its role is defined separately in the Drug
Facts: it is the ingredient Aveeno registered with the agency as doing the
skin-protecting. The FDA even indexes the product by that active — the drug
registration name is “Aveeno Daily Moisturizing dimethicone lotion.”
Not oat lotion. The oat, by contrast, appears nowhere in the Drug Facts box. It
is one of the inactives.
And it is not the only workhorse ahead of the oat.
Petrolatum sits at position four — three places above the
oat. Petrolatum is one of the most effective occlusives in cosmetic chemistry and
is itself an FDA-recognized skin protectant under the OTC monograph
(21 CFR 347.10). It
is the ingredient forming the barrier film that slows water loss. So the pair of
ingredients most responsible for this being a “moisturizing” lotion
— the registered protectant and the occlusive — are dimethicone and
petrolatum. The oat is downstream of both.
| Position | Ingredient | What it does |
|---|---|---|
| 3 | Distearyldimonium Chloride | Quaternary conditioning agent; gives the lotion its slip |
| 4 | Petrolatum | Occlusive; an FDA-recognized skin protectant in its own right |
| 7 | Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour | The namesake ingredient; an inactive, seventh of ten |
| 8 | Dimethicone (1.2%) | The registered active skin protectant, per the Drug Facts box |
None of this makes it a poor lotion. Dimethicone and petrolatum are both
genuinely effective, well-tolerated ingredients, and a barrier lotion built on
them is a reasonable thing to buy. The point is narrower and fair: it is a
dimethicone-and-petrolatum protectant with oat as an inactive, sold as an oat
lotion. If you bought it for the oat, you mostly bought the silicone and the
petrolatum.

Is the oat here the same as the “colloidal oatmeal” in the studies?
This is where it gets genuinely interesting, and where we have to be honest
about what the label does and does not tell us.
The FDA does recognize colloidal oatmeal as an OTC skin-protectant
active in its own right — it has its own entry in the same monograph that
covers petrolatum
(21 CFR 347.10). A
brand that wanted to could file oat as the active and put it in the Drug Facts
box. Aveeno did not. On this product they filed dimethicone and left the oat as
an inactive, listed as “Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour” rather than
as colloidal oatmeal. Oat kernel flour is finely milled oat; whether it meets the
monograph’s colloidal-dispersal definition is not something we can read off
the label, so we are not going to assert it either way.
The clinical evidence for oat in a lotion is real but specific about dose. An
Aveeno-affiliated study in Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational
Dermatology describes benefits from
“a daily
moisturizing lotion containing 1% colloidal oat” (2021;14:73–82
— and note the study is company-affiliated, so weigh it accordingly). An
independent randomized trial reached similar conclusions using a
1% colloidal oat
formulation (J Drugs Dermatol. 2020;19(5):524–531), though that was
a dedicated eczema cream, not this daily lotion.
Here is the honest gap: Aveeno does not disclose the oat concentration
in this product, and no brand is required to. What we can say is what the
label shows — the oat is seventh of ten, below several ingredients present
in larger amounts — and what the research shows — the studied benefit
sits at 1% colloidal oat. We cannot line those two numbers up, because one of them
is not published. We are not going to guess it for you. But “the namesake
ingredient is an inactive at position seven, and the evidence base is built at 1%,
which the brand does not confirm it hits” is a fair place to leave it.

What is distearyldimonium chloride doing at position three?
Three names above the oat, at position three, is distearyldimonium chloride.
It is a quaternary ammonium compound — the same family of ingredients used
as conditioning agents in hair care. In a body lotion it is what gives the
formula its slip and its soft, conditioned skin-feel. It is common, it is legal,
and it is well ahead of the oat by weight.
We are flagging it only because it is a slightly unusual thing to find that
high in a skin lotion, and because it explains part of the pleasant feel that the
marketing tends to credit to the oat. We are not going to make a safety claim
about it: the finished-product concentration here is not disclosed, and the
consumer-advocacy ratings that circulate about this ingredient are based on the
pure chemical, not on a lotion. That is a different question from the one this
piece answers, which is simply: where does it sit? It sits at three, above the
oat.

How do you read any moisturizer’s label this way yourself?
The method is not special to Aveeno, and you do not need a chemistry
background. Find the actual ingredient list — and, on anything sold as a
moisturizing or protectant lotion, find the Drug Facts box too, because
that names the active. Ingredients are listed in descending order of weight down
to about the 1% mark, so where a name sits is a rough proxy for how much is in
the bottle. Then find the ingredient the front of the bottle is selling and see
how far down it is. If the hero is in the top few names, marketing and formula
agree. If it is seventh, and the thing in the Drug Facts box is something else
entirely, they do not.
If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the ingredient on the front
is the one doing the work — and where the list is short enough to read in a
breath — that is a different kind of product. We wrote about that trade-off
for dry skin specifically on our own product page,
tallow for dry
skin — that is ours (Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind
Evil Goods), so read it knowing that. It is the honest next question after this
one, and it is aimed at exactly the dry-skin reader Aveeno is aimed at.
FAQ
Where is the oat in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour is the seventh of ten ingredients on the
fragrance-free body lotion, below water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride,
petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate and cetyl alcohol.
What is the active ingredient in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
Dimethicone at 1.2%, listed as a skin protectant in the Drug Facts box on the
FDA-submitted label. The oat is an inactive, not the registered active.
Is Aveeno’s oat the same as the colloidal oatmeal in the studies?
The label lists “oat kernel flour,” not colloidal oatmeal, and the
product is filed with dimethicone as the active rather than oat. Whether the flour
meets the FDA’s colloidal-oatmeal definition is not something the label
tells you, so we do not assert it.
How much oat is in Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion?
Aveeno does not disclose the concentration, and it is not required to. The
published research on oat lotions is built at 1% colloidal oat; the oat here sits
seventh of ten, below ingredients present in larger amounts.
Is Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion a bad lotion?
No. Dimethicone and petrolatum are effective, well-tolerated barrier ingredients.
The narrower, fairer point is that it is a dimethicone-and-petrolatum protectant
with oat as an inactive, marketed on the oat.
