Tag: squalane

  • Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream: the Glacial Glycoprotein is #29

    Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream with Squalane sells three heroes on the jar: 4.5% squalane, a Glacial Glycoprotein, and Pro-Ceramides. Read the label and only one of them holds up by position. Squalane really is the 4th ingredient on the list, and Kiehl’s even prints the percentage — honest placement. But the Glacial Glycoprotein (Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract) is the 29th ingredient, and the Pro-Ceramide (Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine) is the 31st — both sitting well below the preservative line, which means both are almost certainly present in trace amounts. A glacier is on the front of the jar; on the back it is the 29th thing in the tub.

    This is the exercise this desk runs on everything: quote the actual ingredient list, then point at where the thing on the front of the bottle really lands. Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream is a good one to run it on because it is one of the most-searched facial creams going — tens of thousands of jars a month move through Amazon alone — and because the jar makes three separate hero claims, which is three chances for the label to agree or disagree with the marketing. Here it does one of each.

    What is actually in Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream?

    Here is the full ingredient list, quoted verbatim from Kiehl’s listing on Ulta (SKU 2540234, the 0.95 oz size; Ulta notes the larger SKUs share identical ingredient text), read 16 October 2026:

    Aqua / Water, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Squalane, Bis-Peg-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Sucrose Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Peg-8 Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Prunus Armeniaca Kernel Oil / Apricot Kernel Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Persea Gratissima Oil / Avocado Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Oryza Sativa Bran Oil / Rice Bran Oil, Olea Europaea Fruit Oil / Olive Fruit Oil, Chlorphenesin, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Oil / Sweet Almond Oil, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hydroxide, Tocopherol, Glycine Soja Oil / Soybean Oil, Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract, Myristic Acid, Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine, Salicylic Acid, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil / Sunflower Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis Leaf Extract / Rosemary Leaf Extract, Citric Acid.

    Source: Ulta.com, Kiehl’s own retailer listing, read 16 October 2026. That is a list thirty-five entries long. One note on which formula this is: older databases, and the Kiehl’s India site, show Cyclohexasiloxane near the top of this cream. The current US listing does not — it shows Dimethicone at position 3 instead, and that is the version quoted above. If you are checking your own jar, check the panel on it, because formulas get revised.

    Nib the small round desk creature holding a magnifying glass over the back of a Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream jar, carefully reading the long ingredient panel.
    Nib turns the famous white jar around and starts counting: water, glycerin, dimethicone — and only then the squalane the jar is named for.

    Where does the 4.5% squalane actually sit?

    At position 4 — and credit where it is due, that is honest. Kiehl’s prints “4.5% Squalane” on the front of the jar, and squalane genuinely turns up fourth, above every oil, wax and botanical in the formula. Squalane is a well-liked emollient: a lightweight, highly stable lipid (here derived from olives) that spreads easily and helps skin feel soft and supple. At position 4 with a declared percentage, this is the opposite of the usual story on this desk, where the marketed active hides near the bottom. The squalane claim is the one that survives reading the list. Hold onto that, because the other two heroes do not fare the same way.

    The quieter structural point sits one line above the squalane. Position 3 is Dimethicone — a silicone film-former — and position 5 is a second silicone emollient. So the cream contains at least as much synthetic silicone as it does the squalane it is named for. That is not a knock on silicones: dimethicone is well tolerated and genuinely good at slowing water loss from the skin’s surface. It is simply information that appears nowhere on the front of the jar or in the key-ingredient callouts, and it is worth knowing that a chunk of what makes this cream feel the way it does is silicone, not the botanical lipid on the label.

    Nib pointing a pencil approvingly at position four on a long ingredient list, giving a small nod because the marketed squalane is genuinely near the top.
    For once the hero keeps its promise: the squalane really does sit near the top, at number four, with its percentage printed on the jar.

    Why does the preservative tell you where the glacier is?

    Because of how ingredient lists are legally ordered. Under US labeling rules (21 CFR 701.3), ingredients above 1% must be listed in descending order of weight, but anything present at 1% or less can be listed in any order after them. So you cannot read exact percentages off a label — but you can often find the line where the formula crosses below 1%, and preservatives are the usual marker, because they are typically used at a fraction of a percent and capped low by regulation. Phenoxyethanol, the preservative here, sits at position 11; in the EU it is capped at 1% in cosmetics. Everything from roughly position 11 downward, then, is in that sub-1% tail.

    That is the context for the second hero. The Glacial Glycoprotein — listed by its INCI name, Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract — is at position 29. It is a fermentation extract originally traced to bacteria from Antarctic glaciers, and Kiehl’s markets it as helping skin hold onto moisture. Whatever it does, it does it from the 29th slot, far below the preservative line. The position cannot give you an exact number, but it tells you plainly this is at or below 1%, and realistically a trace. A glacier is one of the trio Kiehl’s leads with; on the label it is behind the sweet almond oil, the xanthan gum and the vitamin E. (If you want the raw ingredient profile independent of the brand’s framing, incidecoder keeps a plain entry for Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract.)

    Nib looking between the front of the Kiehl's jar, which shows a glacier graphic, and the ingredient panel on the back where the glacial glycoprotein sits near the very bottom of the list.
    Nib spots the gap: a glacier on the front of the jar, but the glacial glycoprotein is the 29th ingredient on the back.

    What about the Pro-Ceramides?

    The third hero, the Pro-Ceramide, is Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine at position 31 — two slots further down than the glacier, and firmly in the same sub-1% tail. It is a synthetic ceramide precursor rather than one of the ceramides (NP, AP, EOS and so on) that make up the skin’s own barrier, and ingredient references tend to list it as an emollient and skin-conditioning agent. The honest read is the same as for the glycoprotein: its position tells you it is a trace addition, and I am not going to claim more about what it does or does not do at that level than the position supports. If you want the neutral ingredient write-up, incidecoder has an entry for Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine.

    One aside for anyone who reads the full list and gets a jolt from seeing “Salicylic Acid” at position 32 — that is not an added BHA exfoliant. According to the independent review at squalaneclub.com, which cross-checked this list against two additional ingredient registries, the salicylic acid comes in as the preservative for the glacial glycoprotein raw material, listed by the supplier as water, pseudoalteromonas ferment extract, salicylic acid and sodium hydroxide. In other words, it rode in with ingredient 29; it is not there to resurface your skin. At that depth it would be a trace in any case.

    Squalane (#4)
    The marketed 4.5% hero, genuinely near the top with its percentage printed on the jar. The honest claim.
    Dimethicone (#3) + silicone (#5)
    At least as much synthetic silicone as squalane; mentioned nowhere on the front.
    Phenoxyethanol (#11)
    The preservative, marking roughly where the formula drops below 1%.
    Glacial Glycoprotein (#29)
    Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract — a front-of-jar hero, sitting at or below 1%.
    Pro-Ceramide (#31)
    Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine — the third hero, also a trace addition in the sub-1% tail.
    Nib holding up the long ingredient list and pointing the pencil at two entries near the bottom, the glacial glycoprotein and the pro-ceramide, sitting close to the end of the panel.
    Nib marks the two quieter heroes: the glycoprotein at 29 and the pro-ceramide at 31, both tucked into the bottom third of the list.

    So is Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream a bad moisturizer?

    No — and that is not the point of reading the label. This is a competently built cream. Squalane high up, glycerin second doing the real humectant work, silicones to seal the surface, a spread of plant oils and a bit of vitamin E: that combination will leave most people’s skin feeling soft, and the squalane claim is more honest than a lot of the jars that pass this desk. The thing worth knowing is narrower. Of the three heroes Kiehl’s puts on the front, one (squalane) is where the marketing says it is, and two (the glacier and the pro-ceramide) are trace additions near the bottom of a list thirty-five entries long. If you are buying this cream for the Antarctic glacial glycoprotein, you are buying a cream whose main moisturizing work is being done by glycerin, silicone and squalane, with the glacier along for the story.

    If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the ingredients doing the work are the short list of things you can read on the front, that is a different kind of formula — fewer ingredients, no sub-1% tail of trace heroes to decode. That is the whole idea behind our own tallow moisturizer at Evil Goods (Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil Goods, and I point to it here because this entire piece is about which ingredients are actually present in a meaningful amount). It is not a verdict on Kiehl’s; it is the other end of the same label-reading exercise. Whatever you choose, the ingredient panel on the back is the honest document, and the front of the jar is the advertisement.

    FAQ

    What is the first ingredient in Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream with Squalane?
    Water, followed by glycerin, dimethicone and then squalane at position 4 of 35. Kiehl’s prints “4.5% Squalane” on the jar, and the squalane’s placement at number 4 is consistent with that.

    Where does the Glacial Glycoprotein sit in the ingredient list?
    At position 29 of 35, listed by its INCI name Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract. It sits well below the preservative (phenoxyethanol, #11), which means it is present at or below 1% — almost certainly a trace amount, despite being one of the three heroes on the front of the jar.

    Where is the Pro-Ceramide?
    Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine is at position 31, in the same sub-1% tail as the glycoprotein. It is a synthetic ceramide precursor, generally listed as an emollient, and its position indicates a trace addition.

    Why is salicylic acid in the list?
    At position 32 it is not an added exfoliant. An independent cross-check of the list reports it comes in as the preservative for the glacial glycoprotein raw material (supplied as water, pseudoalteromonas ferment extract, salicylic acid and sodium hydroxide), not as a BHA added by Kiehl’s.

    Is squalane the same as squalene?
    They are related but not identical. Squalene is a naturally occurring lipid that oxidizes easily; squalane is its hydrogenated, shelf-stable form. The cream uses squalane, here derived from olives, which is why it stays stable in the jar.

    Nib the round desk creature holding up the Kiehl's ingredient panel like a trophy and pointing at it with a pencil, as if to say the back of the jar is the document that tells the truth.
    Nib’s parting note: three heroes on the front, but the panel on the back shows only one of them near the top — and that is the document worth reading.
  • Josie Maran Whipped Argan Oil Face Butter: Argan Is Honestly #2. The Squalane and Hyaluronate Are After Nine Other Things.

    On the Josie Maran Whipped Argan Oil Face Butter’s own ingredient list, argan oil sits at position two — and it genuinely earns that spot. But the pair the marketing treats as its co-stars, squalane and sodium hyaluronate, appear at #16 and #15, after a synthetic texture polymer, a coconut-derived oil, a sugar-alcohol humectant complex and aloe. Argan is the honest headline here. The squalane and hyaluronate are real, but they are not co-equals with the argan by volume.

    Josie Maran’s brand page describes this product as air-whipping “organic, fast-absorbing, and line-smoothing Argan Oil with squalane and sodium hyaluronate.” A major beauty retailer lists all three as highlighted ingredients, side by side, as if they carried the same weight in the jar. That is the claim. The label tells a more layered story, and the nice part is you can check it yourself.

    What is actually in the Josie Maran Whipped Argan Oil Face Butter?

    Here is the full INCI list, quoted verbatim from josiemaran.com, read on 28 September 2026. It runs to thirty-five entries long:

    Aqua (Water), Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Dicapryl Carbonate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyl Dimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Xylitylglucoside, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Anhydroxylitol, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Squalane, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Citrullus Lanatus (Watermelon) Extract, Lysolecithin, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Allantoin, Pullulan, Sodium Phytate, Xylitol, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Caprylate, Polysorbate-60, Glyceryl Undecylenate, Xanthan Gum, Citric Acid, Sclerotium Gum, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

    Source: josiemaran.com product page, read 2026-09-28. An identical order appeared in a major retailer’s listing on the same date. One note before we start counting positions: an ingredient list is ordered by weight only down to the 1% mark, and below that the order is at the formulator’s discretion. So positions near the top are meaningful, and positions in the tail are softer. Keep that in mind — it cuts both ways here.

    Nib the round pencil-sketch creature holds up a large product jar with a magnifying glass, squinting at the tiny ingredient list printed on the side.
    Nib does the one thing the marketing hopes you will skip: reads the back of the jar.

    Does the argan oil claim hold up?

    Yes — and it is worth saying so plainly, because this site is not here to dunk on every product. Argan oil is the second ingredient, behind only water. Third-party formulation estimators (which reverse-engineer likely percentages from INCI order, and are estimates, not disclosures) put it somewhere around 11% of the formula. Whether or not that exact figure is right, position two behind water is a strong, defensible place for the ingredient a product is named after. If you came for argan oil, argan oil is what is doing most of the emollient work.

    Argan oil is also well tolerated by most people. A 2026 cross-reactivity study out of a US dermatology clinic patch-tested 1,859 patients and found argan oil reactions in just three of them — about 0.16% (Contact Dermatitis, 2026). Allergy to it is documented but rare; if you have a known tree-nut or lipid-transfer-protein sensitivity, that 0.16% is worth knowing, but for most skin it is a gentle oil.

    Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil
    Position #2 of 35. The named hero. Estimated ~11% by third-party tools. The claim matches the label.
    Sodium Hyaluronate
    Position #15. Co-marketed as a headline active. Typical cosmetic dosing sits at 0.05–0.5% in emulsions.
    Squalane
    Position #16. Co-marketed as a co-equal “good fat.” A functional emollient dose is often cited at 1–3%; at #16 it is likely under 2%.
    Nib stands beside a tall numbered column of stacked blocks, pointing a pencil at the second block from the top which is labelled with an oil droplet.
    Position two, water aside: this is where the front-of-jar claim actually lives.

    Where do the squalane and sodium hyaluronate really sit?

    Squalane and sodium hyaluronate are marketed as if they stand shoulder to shoulder with argan oil. On the label they appear at #16 and #15 — behind a stack of things the ad never mentions: a synthetic acrylic texture polymer at #9, a coconut/palm-derived light oil at #10, and a xylitol-based humectant complex plus aloe at #11 through #14. Both squalane and hyaluronate do appear before the preservative phenoxyethanol at #35, so neither is at vanishing trace level. But “present” and “co-equal hero” are different claims.

    Concentration decides what each one can do. For sodium hyaluronate, the topical literature shows measurable moisturizing and water-loss benefits at roughly 0.5–1% (PMC review, 2025). At position #15, it is plausibly at the low end of that band or below it — likely doing something, but not a lot at once. For squalane, the Cosmetic Ingredient Review panel’s safety assessment documents its use as an emollient across a range of concentrations (CIR, 2019); at #16 it is a genuine skin-feel and softening agent, not the structural bulk of the product. The argan at ~11% is simply on a different scale.

    Nib peers at two small blocks far down a numbered column, positions fifteen and sixteen, holding the magnifying glass close while the argan block towers above near the top.
    The two co-stars from the ad copy turn up at #15 and #16, nine or more places below the argan.

    What is the polymer at #9 doing above them?

    Position #9, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyl Dimethyl Taurate Copolymer, is the sole entry in the whole list the brand’s own annotation does not mark as “naturally-derived.” It is a synthetic acrylic polymer used to thicken and stabilize emulsions — the thing that gives a whipped cream its whipped body. It is not unusual and it is not a problem; it is just worth noticing that a synthetic texture-builder sits several places above the two naturals the marketing leans on.

    One honest open question: this polymer is the active in a pre-blended commercial ingredient (sold by its maker as a system that already contains squalane as a carrier liquid). If this formula used that pre-blend, some of the “squalane” at #16 could be riding in as the polymer’s carrier rather than added on its own as an active. The formula also lists Polysorbate-60 further down, which is consistent with that system — though polysorbate 60 is a common standalone emulsifier too. We cannot confirm this without formulation disclosure, so treat it strictly as a maybe. It is flagged here because it would change whether squalane deserves billing as a standalone active at all.

    Nib sits at a small desk stamping a sheet of paper headed with a bold study claim and a large question mark drawn beside it, an eyebrow raised.
    Nib’s favorite kind of line to check: a proof claim that needs a citeable study behind it.

    What about the study claims and the “mineral oil free” line?

    The brand page carries two study-backed lines: improved firmness and hydration “after one use,” and improved barrier function and pores over four weeks. Both cite studies of 30 participants. Thirty-person, company-run studies are preliminary by design — small, short, not the same as published, peer-reviewed, independently replicated work. That does not make them fake; it makes them thin. The honest reading is “an in-house study of thirty people suggested this,” not a settled result.

    The “mineral oil free” line is technically accurate — there is no liquid paraffin or petrolatum in the list. It is fair to note, though, that positions #7, #8 and #9 (dicapryl carbonate, ethylhexyl palmitate, and that acrylic polymer) are synthetic. “No mineral oil” is true; “no synthetics” is not what the list says, and the brand does not quite claim the latter.

    So is it worth $57?

    At roughly $57 for 1.7 oz (a price you should confirm at checkout, since it moves), you are paying a premium for a well-made whipped moisturizer whose named hero — argan oil — is honestly placed. If argan oil at ~11% is the thing you want, this delivers it. If you were buying it for the squalane and the hyaluronate because the copy put them up in lights, the label says those are supporting players, not co-leads.

    Full disclosure, because it is the whole point of this site: we are the team behind Evil Goods, and we make a whipped face moisturizer too. If a whipped face butter is the format you are after and you would rather the front-of-jar ingredient sit at position one, our Whipped Tallow & Manuka Honey Moisturizer leads with grass-fed tallow rather than argan-behind-a-polymer. It is a very different formula — fewer ingredients, animal fat instead of plant oil — and it will not be for everyone. That is fine. The argan butter is a legitimately made product; we just think you should buy it knowing exactly where each headline ingredient lands, then pick the format and the fat you actually want.

    Frequently asked questions

    Is argan oil really the main ingredient in the Josie Maran face butter?

    After water, yes. Argan oil is listed at position #2 of 35, and third-party estimators put it around 11%. The front-of-jar claim matches the label.

    How much squalane is in it?

    The label places squalane at #16. A functional emollient dose is often cited at 1–3%, so at that position it is likely under 2% — a real skin-feel agent, not the bulk of the formula.

    Does the sodium hyaluronate do anything at position #15?

    Probably a little. Topical studies show benefit at roughly 0.5–1%; at #15 it is plausibly at or below the low end of that range. Present and likely functional, but not a heavy dose.

    Are the on-pack study claims trustworthy?

    They rest on 30-participant, company-run studies. Those are preliminary — small and short, not published peer-reviewed trials. Read them as suggestive, not settled.

    Nib closes a notebook and gives a small satisfied nod, magnifying glass tucked under one arm, the numbered ingredient column faint in the background.
    Case closed: an honest #2, two co-stars with smaller roles than the billing suggests, and a label that told you the truth the whole time.
  • Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream: Hyaluronic Acid Is the 25th Ingredient

    Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream is sold on hyaluronic
    acid — a major retailer’s listing leads with “Hyaluronic Acid,
    Red Algae, and Hadasei-3.” But on the ingredient list read from tatcha.com
    on 5 September 2026, sodium hyaluronate — the INCI name for
    hyaluronic acid — is the twenty-fifth name on a list of forty-seven, sitting
    below nine botanical extracts in the part of the label where everything is
    present at one percent or less. The rich, dewy feel of this $74 cream is built
    higher up, from dimethicone (#5), squalane (#6) and a stack of emollient esters.
    The HA is really in there, and hyaluronic acid works even at low levels —
    but it is a supporting player wearing the front of the jar.

    Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream is one of the most-searched prestige moisturizers
    in America, a long-running bestseller at $74 for 50 ml. Its whole marketing
    identity is the trio on the front: hyaluronic acid, red algae, and the
    trademarked Hadasei-3 Japanese-botanical complex. The product page promises a
    cream that “hydrates, visibly plumps and smooths lines.” Hyaluronic
    acid gets top billing.

    The back of the jar — the actual ingredient list, ordered by weight down
    to about the one-percent mark — tells a story you can check yourself in a
    couple of minutes. We read the whole label. Here is where everything actually
    sits.

    Where does the hyaluronic acid actually land on the label?

    Here is the full list, quoted verbatim from the product page at tatcha.com,
    read on 5 September 2026 (HTTP 200). The same forty-seven names,
    in the same order, appear on two major-retailer listings for the product —
    the full-size and the 10 ml mini — indexed within the past week. Tatcha’s
    own footer notes the list is subject to change, so check the packaging on the
    jar you buy:

    Aqua/Water/Eau, Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Squalane, Diisostearyl Malate, Behenyl Alcohol, Myristyl Myristate, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Inositol, Sorbitan Tristearate, Beheneth-20, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Cladosiphon Okamuranus Extract, Chondrus Crispus Extract, Betaphycus Gelatinum Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Origanum Majorana Leaf Extract, Thymus Serpyllum Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Flower Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Gold, Sericin, Phytosteryl Macadamiate, Tocopherol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Sorbitan Isostearate, Polysorbate 60, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Benzoate, Gluconolactone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Parfum/Fragrance, Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Citral, Limonene, Linalool, Mica, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Violet 2 (CI 60725).

    Sodium Hyaluronate is the twenty-fifth name on that list of forty-seven. It
    appears after water, a rice ferment, two humectants, silicone, squalane, six
    emollient esters and thickeners, two more helpers, an emulsifier — and then
    after nine plant and algae extracts: green tea, Okinawa mozuku algae,
    Irish moss, another red algae, rice bran, ginseng, marjoram, wild thyme and
    mallow flower. On a label ordered by weight, a hero ingredient in
    twenty-fifth place, below all nine botanicals, is near the middle-to-back of the
    formula, not the front.

    One structural fact does most of the work here. Under the FDA’s cosmetic
    labeling rule, ingredients present at one percent or less may be listed in any
    order after the ingredients above one percent
    (FDA
    Cosmetics Labeling Guide
    , 21 CFR 701.3(f)(2)). In a formula this long, the
    under-one-percent block begins well before position twenty-five — the nine
    botanical extracts and everything after them, hyaluronic acid included, are in
    it. So the honest, checkable statement is this: sodium hyaluronate is present at
    one percent or less. We cannot say it is definitely lower than the nine
    botanicals listed before it, because within the under-one-percent group the order
    is at the maker’s discretion. The position is verifiable; the exact
    percentage is not, and Tatcha does not disclose it.

    Marketed hero
    Hyaluronic Acid (sodium hyaluronate)
    Position on label
    Twenty-fifth of forty-seven, in the ≤1% block, below nine botanicals
    Building the cream
    Dimethicone (#5), squalane (#6) and six emollient esters (#7–#12)
    Price
    $74 / 50 ml, per tatcha.com, 5 Sep 2026
    Source of list
    tatcha.com, read 5 Sep 2026 (HTTP 200); corroborated at two major-retailer listings
    Nib the small round pencil-sketch creature holds a magnifying glass up to a squat lavender-tinted jar labelled The Dewy Skin Cream, squinting at the tiny ingredient type on the back rather than the big Hyaluronic Acid wording on the front.
    The front sells hyaluronic acid. Nib flips the $74 jar over to see where the HA actually lands.

    So what is actually building the dewy cream you feel?

    The ingredients doing the sensory work — the slip, the cushion, the
    famous dewy finish — sit near the top of the list, and none of them is on
    the front of the jar.

    The rice ferment at position two is genuinely near the top.
    Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate is the leading named botanical in the
    formula, and it is fair to say Tatcha does not bury all its botanicals
    — this one is really in the top tier by weight. That is a real distinction
    from formulas that push every plant extract into the tail.

    Then the texture engine kicks in at #5 and #6. Dimethicone
    (#5) is a silicone; the Cosmetic Ingredient Review classifies the methicones as
    skin-conditioning occlusives that provide a smooth, non-greasy film and slow
    water loss from the surface. Squalane (#6), which Tatcha markets as
    “biomimetic squalane,” is a well-liked lightweight emollient
    — and at position six it is meaningfully present, more so than the HA. Below
    those come six emollient esters and fatty thickeners in a row (positions
    7–12): diisostearyl malate, behenyl alcohol, myristyl myristate and three
    more. That block is the rich, slip-y, cushiony body of the cream.

    The humectants that actually pull water toward skin are cheap and high on the
    list: glycerin at #3 and propanediol at #4, with butylene glycol turning up again
    at #33. Glycerin is one of the best-studied humectants there is. So the
    water-binding is largely glycerin’s job; the luxurious feel is silicone,
    squalane and esters; and the hyaluronic acid the product is named around is a
    minor humectant in the back half.

    Position Ingredient What it does
    2 Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate Fermented rice extract; the leading named botanical, genuinely near the top
    3 Glycerin Humectant; the main water-binding workhorse
    5 Dimethicone Silicone occlusive; the smooth, non-greasy film and skin feel
    6 Squalane Lightweight emollient marketed as “biomimetic squalane”
    25 Sodium Hyaluronate The marketed hero; a humectant, in the ≤1% block

    None of this makes it a bad moisturizer. Squalane is a lovely emollient,
    glycerin is excellent, and the cream feels expensive for a reason. The point is
    narrower and fairer: it is a silicone-squalane-and-ester cream with a
    rice-ferment lead and a small amount of hyaluronic acid, sold as a hyaluronic
    acid cream. If you bought it for the HA, most of what your $74 buys is the feel,
    not the hero.

    Nib runs a pencil down a long numbered ingredient list and stops near the top beside two large drums marked Dimethicone and Squalane, far bigger than a tiny droplet much further down.
    Positions five and six, silicone and squalane. This is where the rich, dewy feel really comes from.

    Does the low position mean the hyaluronic acid does nothing?

    No — and this is where being fair matters more than being harsh.
    Hyaluronic acid is effective at strikingly low concentrations, so “it is at
    one percent or less” is not the same as “it is a token.” In a
    2011 randomized controlled trial, formulations containing just 0.1% sodium
    hyaluronate across a range of molecular weights produced statistically
    significant improvements in skin hydration and elasticity versus placebo
    (Efficacy evaluation
    of a topical hyaluronic acid serum, and the broader HA literature summarised in
    PMC
    ). A 2025 review of topical HA makes the same point and adds a caveat that
    cuts against overstating any concentration figure: with hyaluronic acid,
    molecular weight matters at least as much as the raw percentage
    (Hyaluronic acid in
    topical applications: the various forms and their efficacy
    , 2025). Tatcha
    discloses neither the percentage nor the molecular weight.

    So the criticism here is not “there is too little HA to do
    anything.” A tenth of a percent can measurably do something. The honest
    criticism is about naming and price. The product is marketed around hyaluronic
    acid and priced at $74, while the ingredient itself is a supporting humectant
    below nine botanicals — and the same effective dose of HA is table stakes
    in $12 serums, not an expensive proprietary innovation. For reference, our own
    earlier reading found the same hero-ingredient trick in a $17 drugstore gel,
    where HA landed at position fifteen; here it is ten places lower in a cream that
    costs four times as much.

    If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the things named on the front
    are the things doing the work, that is a different kind of product. We make a
    beef-tallow one — here is
    the
    Evil Goods Whipped Tallow & Manuka Honey Moisturizer
    , whose short label
    reads tallow, Manuka honey, olive oil and vitamin E, with no under-one-percent
    tail to squint at. Full disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team
    behind Evil Goods, so read that link knowing it is ours. The comparison we are
    drawing is about label transparency, not a claim that one cream out-performs the
    other — that would need a study neither product has.

    Nib peers through the magnifying glass at a single tiny droplet marked HA at position twenty-five, sitting below a long row of nine little labelled botanical sprigs.
    The hero ingredient at twenty-five, tucked in below nine botanical extracts in the under-one-percent block.

    What is the fragrance angle at the bottom of the list?

    The tail of this label carries a fragrance cluster worth a careful reader’s
    attention. The formula declares Parfum/Fragrance at position thirty-eight, and
    then three individually named fragrance components lower down: Citral (#41),
    Limonene (#42) and Linalool (#43). Under EU cosmetics rules, those three have to
    be declared by name when present above 10 ppm in a leave-on product, which
    is why they appear as their own INCI entries rather than hiding inside
    “fragrance.”

    All three are recognised contact allergens, and it is fair to say so with the
    strength of the evidence behind it. The EU’s Scientific Committee on
    Consumer Safety classifies citral as an established contact allergen and treats
    oxidised limonene and linalool as allergens of high concern
    (SCCS
    Opinion on Fragrance Allergens
    ). Linalool hydroperoxides — the oxidised
    form that builds up as the ingredient ages on the shelf — showed a
    10.1% positive patch-test rate in the 2021–2022 North American Contact
    Dermatitis Group cycle, which puts them among the more prevalent fragrance
    sensitizers in current data
    (a
    plain-language summary of that patch-test data
    ).

    Read this the right way. The presence of citral, limonene and linalool on the
    label does not mean this cream will irritate your skin, and it does not mean it
    harmed anyone — the amounts are undisclosed and most people use fragranced
    products without trouble. What it means is that a cream positioned as gentle and
    luxurious is a fragranced product carrying three declared allergens, and if your
    skin reacts to scented skincare, that is information you want before spending $74.
    The label tells you; the front of the jar does not.

    Nib holds a tiny stoppered vial marked with three fragrance symbols up to the light, eyebrows raised, next to an open reference book.
    Down at the very bottom sit citral, limonene and linalool, three fragrance allergens the desk always reads.

    How do you read any ingredient list this way yourself?

    The method is not special to Tatcha and needs no chemistry background. Find
    the actual ingredient list — the long one, not the “key
    ingredients” callout the brand writes. Ingredients are listed in descending
    order of weight down to about the one-percent mark, so where a name sits is a
    rough proxy for how much is in the jar. Then find the ingredient the front of the
    package is selling and see how far down it is.

    A useful shortcut for the tail: once you hit a long run of botanical extracts
    listed one after another, you are almost certainly in the under-one-percent
    block, because that is where those trace actives live. Anything from there down
    — here, all nine botanicals, the hyaluronic acid, the gold, the vitamin E,
    the fragrance allergens — is present at roughly a percent or less each. A
    “gold” ingredient (#26) is a good tell: there is no established
    evidence for a cosmetic benefit from topical gold at the trace levels a face
    cream delivers, so its main job on the label is marketing.

    If the hero is in the top few names, the marketing and the formula agree. If
    it is twenty-fifth, below nine botanicals, they do not, and something cheaper and
    unnamed on the front is usually doing the work the label credits to the hero. The
    label is the one part of the product the marketing department does not get to
    rewrite. Read it, and it will usually tell you what you are actually buying.

    FAQ

    Where is the hyaluronic acid in Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream?
    On the list read from tatcha.com on 5 September 2026, sodium hyaluronate is the
    twenty-fifth name on a list of forty-seven, sitting below nine botanical extracts
    in the part of the label where everything is present at one percent or less. The
    position is verifiable; the exact percentage is not disclosed.

    What is actually building the cream if not the HA?
    A rice ferment leads at position two; then dimethicone (#5, a silicone) and
    squalane (#6) with six emollient esters (#7–#12) build the rich, dewy feel.
    Glycerin at #3 is the main humectant. Hyaluronic acid at #25 is a minor
    supporting humectant.

    Does the low position mean there is too little HA to work?
    No. Hyaluronic acid is effective at very low levels — a 2011 randomized
    trial found measurable hydration and elasticity gains from 0.1% sodium
    hyaluronate, and molecular weight matters as much as concentration. The fair
    criticism is that the cream is named and priced on HA while the ingredient is a
    supporting player below nine botanicals.

    Should I worry about the citral, limonene and linalool?
    They are declared fragrance allergens, present above 10 ppm by the EU rule that
    forces them onto the label individually. The SCCS treats citral as an established
    allergen and oxidised limonene and linalool as high-concern ones. Their presence
    is information for anyone whose skin reacts to scented products; it is not proof
    the cream will irritate you, and the amounts are undisclosed.

    Is the hyaluronic acid position the same on the mini and the
    refillable version?

    The two major-retailer listings we checked — the full-size and the 10 ml
    mini — carry an identical ingredient string, so the position holds across sizes.
    Tatcha notes the formula is subject to change, so confirm against the packaging
    on the jar you buy.

    Nib sets down the magnifying glass, closes a little notebook titled Ingredient Desk, and gives a small satisfied nod beside the fully-read lavender label.
    Label read, front claim checked against the back. The HA is real. The cream you feel is silicone, squalane and esters.