Tag: Tatcha

  • Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream: Hyaluronic Acid Is the 25th Ingredient

    Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream is sold on hyaluronic
    acid — a major retailer’s listing leads with “Hyaluronic Acid,
    Red Algae, and Hadasei-3.” But on the ingredient list read from tatcha.com
    on 5 September 2026, sodium hyaluronate — the INCI name for
    hyaluronic acid — is the twenty-fifth name on a list of forty-seven, sitting
    below nine botanical extracts in the part of the label where everything is
    present at one percent or less. The rich, dewy feel of this $74 cream is built
    higher up, from dimethicone (#5), squalane (#6) and a stack of emollient esters.
    The HA is really in there, and hyaluronic acid works even at low levels —
    but it is a supporting player wearing the front of the jar.

    Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream is one of the most-searched prestige moisturizers
    in America, a long-running bestseller at $74 for 50 ml. Its whole marketing
    identity is the trio on the front: hyaluronic acid, red algae, and the
    trademarked Hadasei-3 Japanese-botanical complex. The product page promises a
    cream that “hydrates, visibly plumps and smooths lines.” Hyaluronic
    acid gets top billing.

    The back of the jar — the actual ingredient list, ordered by weight down
    to about the one-percent mark — tells a story you can check yourself in a
    couple of minutes. We read the whole label. Here is where everything actually
    sits.

    Where does the hyaluronic acid actually land on the label?

    Here is the full list, quoted verbatim from the product page at tatcha.com,
    read on 5 September 2026 (HTTP 200). The same forty-seven names,
    in the same order, appear on two major-retailer listings for the product —
    the full-size and the 10 ml mini — indexed within the past week. Tatcha’s
    own footer notes the list is subject to change, so check the packaging on the
    jar you buy:

    Aqua/Water/Eau, Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate, Glycerin, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Squalane, Diisostearyl Malate, Behenyl Alcohol, Myristyl Myristate, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Inositol, Sorbitan Tristearate, Beheneth-20, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Cladosiphon Okamuranus Extract, Chondrus Crispus Extract, Betaphycus Gelatinum Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Origanum Majorana Leaf Extract, Thymus Serpyllum Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Flower Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Gold, Sericin, Phytosteryl Macadamiate, Tocopherol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Sorbitan Isostearate, Polysorbate 60, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Benzoate, Gluconolactone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Parfum/Fragrance, Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Citral, Limonene, Linalool, Mica, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Violet 2 (CI 60725).

    Sodium Hyaluronate is the twenty-fifth name on that list of forty-seven. It
    appears after water, a rice ferment, two humectants, silicone, squalane, six
    emollient esters and thickeners, two more helpers, an emulsifier — and then
    after nine plant and algae extracts: green tea, Okinawa mozuku algae,
    Irish moss, another red algae, rice bran, ginseng, marjoram, wild thyme and
    mallow flower. On a label ordered by weight, a hero ingredient in
    twenty-fifth place, below all nine botanicals, is near the middle-to-back of the
    formula, not the front.

    One structural fact does most of the work here. Under the FDA’s cosmetic
    labeling rule, ingredients present at one percent or less may be listed in any
    order after the ingredients above one percent
    (FDA
    Cosmetics Labeling Guide
    , 21 CFR 701.3(f)(2)). In a formula this long, the
    under-one-percent block begins well before position twenty-five — the nine
    botanical extracts and everything after them, hyaluronic acid included, are in
    it. So the honest, checkable statement is this: sodium hyaluronate is present at
    one percent or less. We cannot say it is definitely lower than the nine
    botanicals listed before it, because within the under-one-percent group the order
    is at the maker’s discretion. The position is verifiable; the exact
    percentage is not, and Tatcha does not disclose it.

    Marketed hero
    Hyaluronic Acid (sodium hyaluronate)
    Position on label
    Twenty-fifth of forty-seven, in the ≤1% block, below nine botanicals
    Building the cream
    Dimethicone (#5), squalane (#6) and six emollient esters (#7–#12)
    Price
    $74 / 50 ml, per tatcha.com, 5 Sep 2026
    Source of list
    tatcha.com, read 5 Sep 2026 (HTTP 200); corroborated at two major-retailer listings
    Nib the small round pencil-sketch creature holds a magnifying glass up to a squat lavender-tinted jar labelled The Dewy Skin Cream, squinting at the tiny ingredient type on the back rather than the big Hyaluronic Acid wording on the front.
    The front sells hyaluronic acid. Nib flips the $74 jar over to see where the HA actually lands.

    So what is actually building the dewy cream you feel?

    The ingredients doing the sensory work — the slip, the cushion, the
    famous dewy finish — sit near the top of the list, and none of them is on
    the front of the jar.

    The rice ferment at position two is genuinely near the top.
    Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate is the leading named botanical in the
    formula, and it is fair to say Tatcha does not bury all its botanicals
    — this one is really in the top tier by weight. That is a real distinction
    from formulas that push every plant extract into the tail.

    Then the texture engine kicks in at #5 and #6. Dimethicone
    (#5) is a silicone; the Cosmetic Ingredient Review classifies the methicones as
    skin-conditioning occlusives that provide a smooth, non-greasy film and slow
    water loss from the surface. Squalane (#6), which Tatcha markets as
    “biomimetic squalane,” is a well-liked lightweight emollient
    — and at position six it is meaningfully present, more so than the HA. Below
    those come six emollient esters and fatty thickeners in a row (positions
    7–12): diisostearyl malate, behenyl alcohol, myristyl myristate and three
    more. That block is the rich, slip-y, cushiony body of the cream.

    The humectants that actually pull water toward skin are cheap and high on the
    list: glycerin at #3 and propanediol at #4, with butylene glycol turning up again
    at #33. Glycerin is one of the best-studied humectants there is. So the
    water-binding is largely glycerin’s job; the luxurious feel is silicone,
    squalane and esters; and the hyaluronic acid the product is named around is a
    minor humectant in the back half.

    Position Ingredient What it does
    2 Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate Fermented rice extract; the leading named botanical, genuinely near the top
    3 Glycerin Humectant; the main water-binding workhorse
    5 Dimethicone Silicone occlusive; the smooth, non-greasy film and skin feel
    6 Squalane Lightweight emollient marketed as “biomimetic squalane”
    25 Sodium Hyaluronate The marketed hero; a humectant, in the ≤1% block

    None of this makes it a bad moisturizer. Squalane is a lovely emollient,
    glycerin is excellent, and the cream feels expensive for a reason. The point is
    narrower and fairer: it is a silicone-squalane-and-ester cream with a
    rice-ferment lead and a small amount of hyaluronic acid, sold as a hyaluronic
    acid cream. If you bought it for the HA, most of what your $74 buys is the feel,
    not the hero.

    Nib runs a pencil down a long numbered ingredient list and stops near the top beside two large drums marked Dimethicone and Squalane, far bigger than a tiny droplet much further down.
    Positions five and six, silicone and squalane. This is where the rich, dewy feel really comes from.

    Does the low position mean the hyaluronic acid does nothing?

    No — and this is where being fair matters more than being harsh.
    Hyaluronic acid is effective at strikingly low concentrations, so “it is at
    one percent or less” is not the same as “it is a token.” In a
    2011 randomized controlled trial, formulations containing just 0.1% sodium
    hyaluronate across a range of molecular weights produced statistically
    significant improvements in skin hydration and elasticity versus placebo
    (Efficacy evaluation
    of a topical hyaluronic acid serum, and the broader HA literature summarised in
    PMC
    ). A 2025 review of topical HA makes the same point and adds a caveat that
    cuts against overstating any concentration figure: with hyaluronic acid,
    molecular weight matters at least as much as the raw percentage
    (Hyaluronic acid in
    topical applications: the various forms and their efficacy
    , 2025). Tatcha
    discloses neither the percentage nor the molecular weight.

    So the criticism here is not “there is too little HA to do
    anything.” A tenth of a percent can measurably do something. The honest
    criticism is about naming and price. The product is marketed around hyaluronic
    acid and priced at $74, while the ingredient itself is a supporting humectant
    below nine botanicals — and the same effective dose of HA is table stakes
    in $12 serums, not an expensive proprietary innovation. For reference, our own
    earlier reading found the same hero-ingredient trick in a $17 drugstore gel,
    where HA landed at position fifteen; here it is ten places lower in a cream that
    costs four times as much.

    If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the things named on the front
    are the things doing the work, that is a different kind of product. We make a
    beef-tallow one — here is
    the
    Evil Goods Whipped Tallow & Manuka Honey Moisturizer
    , whose short label
    reads tallow, Manuka honey, olive oil and vitamin E, with no under-one-percent
    tail to squint at. Full disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team
    behind Evil Goods, so read that link knowing it is ours. The comparison we are
    drawing is about label transparency, not a claim that one cream out-performs the
    other — that would need a study neither product has.

    Nib peers through the magnifying glass at a single tiny droplet marked HA at position twenty-five, sitting below a long row of nine little labelled botanical sprigs.
    The hero ingredient at twenty-five, tucked in below nine botanical extracts in the under-one-percent block.

    What is the fragrance angle at the bottom of the list?

    The tail of this label carries a fragrance cluster worth a careful reader’s
    attention. The formula declares Parfum/Fragrance at position thirty-eight, and
    then three individually named fragrance components lower down: Citral (#41),
    Limonene (#42) and Linalool (#43). Under EU cosmetics rules, those three have to
    be declared by name when present above 10 ppm in a leave-on product, which
    is why they appear as their own INCI entries rather than hiding inside
    “fragrance.”

    All three are recognised contact allergens, and it is fair to say so with the
    strength of the evidence behind it. The EU’s Scientific Committee on
    Consumer Safety classifies citral as an established contact allergen and treats
    oxidised limonene and linalool as allergens of high concern
    (SCCS
    Opinion on Fragrance Allergens
    ). Linalool hydroperoxides — the oxidised
    form that builds up as the ingredient ages on the shelf — showed a
    10.1% positive patch-test rate in the 2021–2022 North American Contact
    Dermatitis Group cycle, which puts them among the more prevalent fragrance
    sensitizers in current data
    (a
    plain-language summary of that patch-test data
    ).

    Read this the right way. The presence of citral, limonene and linalool on the
    label does not mean this cream will irritate your skin, and it does not mean it
    harmed anyone — the amounts are undisclosed and most people use fragranced
    products without trouble. What it means is that a cream positioned as gentle and
    luxurious is a fragranced product carrying three declared allergens, and if your
    skin reacts to scented skincare, that is information you want before spending $74.
    The label tells you; the front of the jar does not.

    Nib holds a tiny stoppered vial marked with three fragrance symbols up to the light, eyebrows raised, next to an open reference book.
    Down at the very bottom sit citral, limonene and linalool, three fragrance allergens the desk always reads.

    How do you read any ingredient list this way yourself?

    The method is not special to Tatcha and needs no chemistry background. Find
    the actual ingredient list — the long one, not the “key
    ingredients” callout the brand writes. Ingredients are listed in descending
    order of weight down to about the one-percent mark, so where a name sits is a
    rough proxy for how much is in the jar. Then find the ingredient the front of the
    package is selling and see how far down it is.

    A useful shortcut for the tail: once you hit a long run of botanical extracts
    listed one after another, you are almost certainly in the under-one-percent
    block, because that is where those trace actives live. Anything from there down
    — here, all nine botanicals, the hyaluronic acid, the gold, the vitamin E,
    the fragrance allergens — is present at roughly a percent or less each. A
    “gold” ingredient (#26) is a good tell: there is no established
    evidence for a cosmetic benefit from topical gold at the trace levels a face
    cream delivers, so its main job on the label is marketing.

    If the hero is in the top few names, the marketing and the formula agree. If
    it is twenty-fifth, below nine botanicals, they do not, and something cheaper and
    unnamed on the front is usually doing the work the label credits to the hero. The
    label is the one part of the product the marketing department does not get to
    rewrite. Read it, and it will usually tell you what you are actually buying.

    FAQ

    Where is the hyaluronic acid in Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream?
    On the list read from tatcha.com on 5 September 2026, sodium hyaluronate is the
    twenty-fifth name on a list of forty-seven, sitting below nine botanical extracts
    in the part of the label where everything is present at one percent or less. The
    position is verifiable; the exact percentage is not disclosed.

    What is actually building the cream if not the HA?
    A rice ferment leads at position two; then dimethicone (#5, a silicone) and
    squalane (#6) with six emollient esters (#7–#12) build the rich, dewy feel.
    Glycerin at #3 is the main humectant. Hyaluronic acid at #25 is a minor
    supporting humectant.

    Does the low position mean there is too little HA to work?
    No. Hyaluronic acid is effective at very low levels — a 2011 randomized
    trial found measurable hydration and elasticity gains from 0.1% sodium
    hyaluronate, and molecular weight matters as much as concentration. The fair
    criticism is that the cream is named and priced on HA while the ingredient is a
    supporting player below nine botanicals.

    Should I worry about the citral, limonene and linalool?
    They are declared fragrance allergens, present above 10 ppm by the EU rule that
    forces them onto the label individually. The SCCS treats citral as an established
    allergen and oxidised limonene and linalool as high-concern ones. Their presence
    is information for anyone whose skin reacts to scented products; it is not proof
    the cream will irritate you, and the amounts are undisclosed.

    Is the hyaluronic acid position the same on the mini and the
    refillable version?

    The two major-retailer listings we checked — the full-size and the 10 ml
    mini — carry an identical ingredient string, so the position holds across sizes.
    Tatcha notes the formula is subject to change, so confirm against the packaging
    on the jar you buy.

    Nib sets down the magnifying glass, closes a little notebook titled Ingredient Desk, and gives a small satisfied nod beside the fully-read lavender label.
    Label read, front claim checked against the back. The HA is real. The cream you feel is silicone, squalane and esters.