There is no collagen in Olay Regenerist Collagen Peptide 24 Face Moisturizer. Reading its full label top to bottom, nothing named collagen, hydrolyzed collagen, or soluble collagen appears anywhere. The “collagen” in the name is a single peptide — Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 — sitting at position #10, between Pro-Vitamin B5 and a mushroom extract.
It is one of the best-selling “collagen” moisturizers at US drugstores, and the name does a lot of work. “Collagen Peptide 24” reads like a jar of collagen. So I pulled the label and read it the way I read every label: top to bottom, counting where the hero actually lands.
Nib shows up for the collagen cream with an empty jar and high hopes.
Is there any collagen in Olay Collagen Peptide 24?
No. Here is the full ingredient list for the fragrance-free face moisturizer, quoted verbatim, with the hero marked:
Read the whole thing and the word collagen never appears. What the brand calls “Collagen Peptide” is the INCI name Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 — better known by its trade name Matrixyl. It is a short five-amino-acid chain that signals skin cells to make more of their own collagen. It is not collagen, and it does not contain collagen. That is not a gotcha unique to Olay; topical collagen is a large molecule that does not pass into skin, which is why serious formulas use signaling peptides instead. Olay’s own Canadian ingredient page explains this distinction plainly — the shelf name just does not carry the same nuance.
The label says collagen. The ingredients say otherwise.
Where does the peptide sit on the label?
Position #10, near the midpoint of the list. It follows five emollients and emulsifiers — isohexadecane, dimethicone, isopropyl isostearate, stearyl alcohol, polyacrylamide — that each typically make up a few percent of a cream, plus panthenol at #9. By the usual reading of an ingredient list, everything below roughly position six or seven is under one percent. So the peptide is almost certainly a fraction of a percent of the jar.
That is not automatically a problem. Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 is active at tiny doses. The trouble is the label alone does not tell you the dose, and Olay does not disclose it.
What’s on the front
“Collagen Peptide 24”
What’s actually in the jar
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl), a collagen-signaling peptide — no collagen
Its label position
#10, around the midpoint of the list
Disclosed concentration
None
Position ten of twenty-eight. You have to go looking for it.
The catch is disclosure. A dermatology trade piece from July 2026 put it bluntly: most over-the-counter products list Matrixyl without disclosing concentration, and it advises looking for the peptide in the top half of the ingredient list. Here it sits at #10 — around the midpoint — with no number attached. The industry safety review backs up how small these doses run: the CIR assessment of pentapeptides records a maximum leave-on use level of 0.0012% across the formulas it surveyed. So the honest read is not “this is too weak.” It is “the amount is unknown from the label, and the research effect was demonstrated at a very specific low dose this jar may or may not hit.”
Twenty-eight ingredients to copy out, and still no number next to the peptide.
What should you look for instead?
If what you want is a peptide you can actually find on the label, look for a peptide that is both named clearly and sitting high enough that it is plausibly present in a meaningful amount. GHK-Cu — copper tripeptide-1 — is a well-studied example, a genuine copper-peptide complex with a documented role in collagen and elastin synthesis rather than only a signaling fragment.
Full disclosure, because this site is published by the team behind Evil Goods: our own Copper Peptide Blue Honey Cream is built around copper tripeptide-1 and lists it near the front rather than burying it at #10. That is not me telling you it outperforms Olay in a trial — I have no head-to-head data and will not pretend otherwise. It is me pointing at a formula where the peptide is named and positioned where you can see it. Compare the labels yourself; that is the whole point of this desk.
Frequently asked questions
Does Olay Collagen Peptide 24 contain collagen?
No. The full label contains no collagen in any form. “Collagen Peptide” is the marketing name for Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, a collagen-signaling peptide.
What is Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4?
A five-amino-acid peptide, trade name Matrixyl, that signals skin cells to produce collagen. The CIR notes it is a subfragment of type I collagen propeptide — derived from collagen, but not collagen itself.
What does the “24” mean?
Olay’s product copy ties it to 24 hours of hydration. The brand does not publish a formal definition, so treat that as marketing shorthand, not a measured figure.
Is a peptide at position #10 useless?
Not necessarily — this peptide works at very low doses. But the concentration is not disclosed, so the label alone cannot tell you whether it reaches the level used in the studies.
If you are weighing a serum against a cream for peptides, we wrote up how the two formats compare — also ours, and also a label-first read rather than a sales pitch.
One small peptide, somewhere under one percent. Nib was hoping for more collagen than that.
On the label of the Olay Vitamin C +
Peptide 24 Brightening Serum, the vitamin C — printed as 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic
Acid, a derivative that has to convert to active ascorbic acid inside the skin
— is the seventh ingredient. Niacinamide, the well-studied brightener Olay
built its Regenerist line on, is the fourth. Niacinamide is not named anywhere in
the product title.
“Vitamin C serum” is one of the most-searched things in skincare, and Olay is
one of the biggest drugstore brands in the United States, so a serum called Vitamin C + Peptide 24 is doing a lot of work with its name. The name
invites exactly one thing: read the label all the way down and see where the two
named actives on the front — the vitamin C and the peptide — actually
land.
Nib picks up the bottle with two actives on the front and starts reading at ingredient one.
Where does the vitamin C actually sit?
Here is the full ingredient list, as published on INCI Decoder
(product entry,
uploaded 2022-05-27, read 2026-09-15) and matching separate Amazon retail
listings for the standard 1.3 fl oz serum:
Ingredients are listed in descending order of concentration down to the 1%
threshold, below which a manufacturer may list them in any order (US FDA, 21 CFR
701.3). Reading from the top, the vitamin C — 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid
— is number seven, sitting behind water, two humectant/texture agents,
niacinamide, an exfoliating acid and a thickener. The peptide is number eight.
Everything above them, except the niacinamide, is solvent, humectant or structure.
#
Ingredient
What it is
1
Water
Solvent — the base of the serum
2
Glycerin
Humectant
3
Dimethicone
Silicone — slip and texture
4
Niacinamide
Well-studied brightening and barrier agent — unnamed on the front
5
Lactic Acid
AHA exfoliant / pH adjuster
6
Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6
Synthetic thickener
7
3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid
The “Vitamin C” on the label — a derivative
8
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4
The “Peptide 24” — also known as Matrixyl
14
Fragrance
Perfuming — a documented contact allergen
None of this is hidden. It is printed on the side of every bottle. But the
front and the back tell slightly different stories, and the back is the one that
governs what your skin meets first.
Seven lines down, past niacinamide and a thickener, Nib finds the named vitamin C.
Is 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid the same as vitamin C?
Not quite, and this is the part that makes the label genuinely interesting
rather than just underwhelming. Pure vitamin C is L-ascorbic acid. What is in
this serum is 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, an ether derivative — a more stable
molecule that the skin has to convert back into ascorbic acid before it does the
vitamin-C job. A 2024 review in Pharmaceutics
(Stamford-style derivative review, 2024)
states plainly that vitamin C derivatives “must be converted to ascorbic acid
in vivo in order to be effective.”
The derivative does reach the skin: an in-vitro study on porcine skin
(Int. J. Cosmet. Sci., 2019)
confirms 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid penetrates. So this is not a case of an
ingredient that does nothing. The honest framing is narrower than that: the
molecule on the label is a derivative that needs converting, Olay does not
publish how much of it is in the bottle, and its position at #7 —
just below a thickener, and behind five other ingredients — suggests it is
not present at a dominant percentage. How much active ascorbic acid results after
conversion is not disclosed.
A derivative up front, active vitamin C only after the skin converts it. Nib keeps the two straight.
What is doing the brightening work, then?
If you are buying this serum to fade dark spots, the ingredient with the
strongest evidence for that job is not the one on the front of the bottle. It is
niacinamide, at position #4 — above both named actives. Niacinamide’s
brightening evidence is unusually good for a cosmetic ingredient: a split-face
randomised trial
(Hakozaki et al., Br. J. Dermatology, 2002)
found 5% niacinamide significantly reduced hyperpigmented area versus vehicle
after 4 and 8 weeks. A later mechanistic review
(Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2021)
notes it works at roughly 4–5% but that 2% is not reliably effective.
We cannot read a percentage off an INCI list, and Olay does not publish one.
But niacinamide at #4 — ahead of the exfoliant, the thickener and both
named heroes — is consistent with a meaningful level, and it is the same
brightener Olay’s Regenerist patents are built around. The peptide,
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl), is a legitimately studied anti-ageing
peptide, though mostly in small studies; at #8 it is present in a low
position on the list. The upshot: the serum’s most evidence-backed brightening ingredient is
the one the name never mentions, and the two ingredients the name is built around
sit seventh and eighth.
Nib weighs the named actives against the unnamed niacinamide sitting three lines above them.
So what does the “24” mean?
Not an ingredient count, not 24% vitamin C, and not a peptide
variant. Olay’s own product copy says the serum delivers “24-hour hydration,” so
the number refers to how long the marketing says it moisturizes, not to anything
about the actives. It is a hydration claim wearing the costume of a
concentration figure — and the meanings people most reasonably assume —
a strength, or how many things are in the bottle — are exactly what it does
not signal.
Reading a peptide as “#8 on the list” is really a question about formulation
priority: what did the formulator decide to put the most of? Here the answer is
water, glycerin, silicone and niacinamide, and then the things on the front of
the bottle. If you would rather buy a serum whose hero ingredient sits at the top
of its own list, that is the thing we make: our Copper Peptide Blue Honey Serum
leads with copper peptides, hyaluronic acid and Manuka honey rather than
silicone and thickener. (Disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team
behind Evil Goods, and that is our serum.)
Is there anything on the label worth watching for?
Two points, stated with their real strength rather than as alarms.
Fragrance.Fragrance is the last ingredient, #14.
Fragrance is a category, not a single molecule, and US labels are not required to
break it into its component allergens. It is also among the most common contact
allergens in cosmetics; a 2024 patch-test review
(Lynde & Lindberg, 2024)
puts fragrance contact-allergy prevalence at roughly 4.5% of the general
population and higher among people already prone to dermatitis. Most
people use fragranced serums without any trouble — but if you are shopping
for a face serum precisely because your skin reacts easily, an added fragrance is
worth knowing sits in the formula.
The derivative itself. One case report of allergic contact
dermatitis to 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid exists in the literature (Yagami et al., Contact Dermatitis, 2014). A single case is not a pattern and should not
be read as one; it is worth a sentence only because the ingredient is the named
hero. If a new active irritates you, patch-testing a small area first is the
ordinary sensible move with any serum.
If you want the reasoning rather than the pitch, we have also written up how to build a copper peptide serum routine,
which walks through what “hero ingredient first” actually buys you and where it
does not matter.
The short version
Olay’s Vitamin C + Peptide 24 Serum names two actives on the front and lists
them seventh and eighth. The vitamin C is a derivative that has to convert in the
skin, at an undisclosed and probably modest level. The ingredient with the best
brightening evidence — niacinamide — sits three lines higher and is
not named at all. The “24” is a hydration-duration claim, not a strength. None of
that is hidden; it is all on the label, in descending order, waiting to be read.
Label read to the last line. Nib closes the notebook: the front said two, the list said seventh and eighth.
On the ingredient list read for Olay Regenerist
Micro-Sculpting Cream on 6 September 2026, niacinamide sits at position
four — high up, in the range where it does real work — so the front
of the jar is telling the truth about the B3. But the “Amino-Peptide”
the marketing leans on, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, is eleventh, behind a synthetic
polymer and a silicone, and the hyaluronic acid is thirteenth. Two of the three
headline actives sit in the trace band near the bottom of the formula. The
unusual part: this particular peptide is supposed to be a trace, so
“it’s low on the list” is not the same as “it does
nothing.”
Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream — the “Red Jar” —
is one of the best-selling anti-aging face creams in American mass retail,
stocked across the big drugstore and supercenter chains. Its whole pitch is a complex: Vitamin B3,
Amino-Peptides, Hyaluronic Acid and antioxidants, all named on the front. It is a
tidy, believable list of the ingredients a good moisturizer should have.
The back of the jar — the actual list, ordered by weight down to about
the one-percent mark — lets you see where each of those four actually
lands. We read the whole thing. One of the four earns its billing. Two are near
the bottom. Here is where everything sits, and why the low positions mean
different things for different ingredients.
One note before the list: Olay has more than one formula in circulation.
This analysis is of the original formula still described on most retailer
listings, sourced below. A newer “triple collagen peptide” version
appears on olay.com; if the jar in your hand names three peptides and no
hyaluronic acid, you have the reformulated one, and the positions here will
differ. Check your own label.
Where does each marketed active actually land on the label?
Here is the full list, quoted verbatim. It was retrieved from the Ulta Beauty
product listing for Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream (SKU 2147262) via the
search index on 6 September 2026 — Ulta blocks direct scraping, so
direct URLs return a 404, but the identical forty-name string appeared across
four separate Ulta result snippets and is corroborated by the Walmart.com listing
for the same product, read the same day. Olay notes formulas are subject to
change, so confirm against the packaging on the jar you buy:
Position 11 — trace, which for this peptide is the working range
Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid)
Position 13 — in the ≤1% band
Tocopheryl Acetate (the antioxidant)
Position 10 — a cheap, abundant vitamin E ester
Source of list
Ulta listing (SKU 2147262) via search index, 6 Sep 2026; corroborated at Walmart.com
Ingredients are listed in descending order of weight down to roughly the
one-percent mark, so position is a rough proxy for how much is in the jar. Two
positions do most of the storytelling here: niacinamide at four, and the peptide
at eleven with the HA at thirteen. They mean opposite things, and the honest
version of this piece treats them differently.
The front sells a whole complex. Nib flips the Red Jar over to read where each name really lands.
Does niacinamide earn its place at number four?
Yes, and it is worth saying so plainly before getting to the parts that are
overstated. Niacinamide at position four, above the emulsifiers, the peptide, the
HA and the fragrance, is consistent with a meaningful concentration —
probably in the low single digits by percentage, though Olay does not disclose a
number, so “probably” is the strongest word warranted.
That matters because niacinamide is one of the better-supported cosmetic
actives for the things this cream is sold to do. The anchor study is a
twelve-week, fifty-subject randomized trial by Bissett and colleagues (2004),
which reported improvements in fine lines, texture and hyperpigmentation from a
5% niacinamide formulation. The evidence base sits roughly in the 2–5%
range. Position four is compatible with that band. So when Olay puts “Vitamin
B3” on the front and niacinamide near the top of the list, the marketing and
the formula agree. That is the honest starting point, and it is not nothing
— plenty of creams name an ingredient on the front that turns up in the
trace tail.
Position
Ingredient
What it does
2
Glycerin
Humectant; the main water-binding workhorse
4
Niacinamide
Vitamin B3; the marketed hero, high enough to be functional
8
Dimethicone
Silicone emollient; the smooth skin feel
11
Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4
The “Amino-Peptide”; a trace ingredient by design
13
Sodium Hyaluronate
Hyaluronic acid salt; a supporting humectant in the ≤1% band
The base doing the sensory work is conventional and fine: water, glycerin,
branched-alkane and ester emollients (isohexadecane at #3, isopropyl isostearate
at #5), an absorbent starch for that dry, powdery finish (#6), a slip polymer
(nylon-12, #7) and dimethicone (#8). That is a competent mass-market moisturizer
base. Nothing wrong with it. It is just not the part on the front of the jar.
Niacinamide at number four. High up, a functional amount, and the marketing is telling the truth here.
Why is the “Amino-Peptide” all the way down at eleven?
This is where it would be easy to be unfair, so here is the careful version.
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4 — the ingredient Olay markets as the
“Amino-Peptide,” better known in the trade as Matrixyl — sits at
position eleven, behind a synthetic polymer (nylon-12), a silicone (dimethicone),
panthenol and the vitamin E ester. By volume it is almost certainly a trace
ingredient.
The trap is concluding that trace means useless. For this particular peptide,
it does not. The published clinical work uses it at strikingly tiny
concentrations: a peptides-in-skincare review tabulates the palmitoyl
pentapeptide-4 trial formulation at 0.0003%
(Peptides in
skincare, PMC, 2025), and the industry’s own safety panel reports the
highest leave-on cosmetic use concentration at 0.0012%
(CIR
Safety Assessment, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, 2023). Three parts per million is
the dose that showed an effect. So a peptide sitting at position eleven, at a
trace level, is behaving exactly as the literature says it should. Position eleven
is not evidence this peptide is inert.
The fair criticism is narrower, and it is about emphasis, not efficacy. The
marketing gives “Amino-Peptides” roughly equal billing with the B3 on
the front of the jar, as though they were comparable pillars of the formula. In
the list, one is at four and the other is a trace at eleven. Both facts can be
true — the peptide works at trace levels and the front-of-jar
prominence is louder than its share of the formula. What you cannot tell from the
label, because Olay does not disclose it, is whether the peptide is at the
0.0003% that was studied or somewhere else entirely. The position tells you it is
small; it cannot tell you it is the studied dose.
The Amino-Peptide at eleven, tucked in behind a synthetic polymer and a silicone. Tiny by volume, by design.
What about the hyaluronic acid at thirteen?
Sodium hyaluronate — the INCI name for hyaluronic acid — is at
position thirteen, in the part of the label where everything is present at about
one percent or less. Like the peptide, HA works at low concentrations, so a low
position is not proof of a token amount. But there is a wrinkle worth one honest
sentence.
Some current retailer pages still market this product as containing
“Hyaluronic Acid” as a key ingredient, while the newer formula listed
on olay.com does not appear to include sodium hyaluronate at all. On the original
formula quoted above, the HA is genuinely present at position thirteen. If you
have picked up the reformulated jar, it may not be in there despite the shelf tag
— which is exactly the kind of thing worth checking on your own label
rather than taking from a retailer’s marketing copy. We could not resolve
the discrepancy without a physical label read, so we are flagging it, not
asserting it.
If what you actually want is a moisturizer where the things named on the front
are the things doing the bulk of the work — no trace tail to squint at
— that is a different kind of product. We make a beef-tallow one: here is the Evil Goods
tallow moisturizer, built from grass-fed tallow, Manuka honey, cold-pressed
olive oil and vitamin E, with no under-one-percent list to read. Full disclosure:
Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil Goods, so read that link
knowing it is ours. The contrast we are drawing is about label structure —
a short list versus a forty-name one — not a claim that one cream
out-performs the other, which would need a study neither product has.
Down at twenty-seven sits Fragrance, the one line on the label the desk always reads twice.
Is the fragrance at position twenty-seven worth noting?
For a leave-on cream applied twice a day, yes, once, with the strength of the
evidence and no more. “Fragrance” sits at position twenty-seven on
this list. Fragrance is the most common cause of cosmetic contact allergy, and
the prevalence is measurable rather than hypothetical: patch-test literature puts
fragrance contact allergy at roughly 0.7–2.6% of the general population, and
substantially higher — into the 5–11% range and above — among
people who get patch-tested for dermatitis
(Mowitz et al., contact
dermatitis to fragrances, 2020; fragrance contact
allergy review, PMC, 2024).
Read that the right way. Fragrance at position twenty-seven does not mean this
cream will irritate your skin, and it does not mean it has harmed anyone —
most people use fragranced moisturizers without any trouble, and the amount here
is undisclosed. What it means is that a daily-use, leave-on product carries a
declared fragrance, and if your skin reacts to scented skincare, that is
information you want before you commit to applying it morning and night. The label
tells you; the front of the jar, which leads with actives, does not.
One more label detail for the careful reader: this formula carries three
parabens — methylparaben (#23), ethylparaben (#24) and propylparaben (#29).
Parabens are among the most-studied cosmetic preservatives and are permitted at
regulated levels; their presence is a formulation choice worth knowing about, not
a verdict. The newer olay.com formula swaps them for phenoxyethanol, which is one
of the clearer signals that you are holding a reformulated jar.
How do you read any ingredient list this way yourself?
The method needs no chemistry background and works on any product. Find the
real ingredient list — the long one on the back, not the “key
ingredients” callout the brand writes for you. It is ordered by weight down
to about the one-percent mark, so where a name sits is a rough proxy for how much
is in the jar. Then take each ingredient the front is selling and find how far
down it actually is.
Two shortcuts help. First, once you hit a run of things at trace levels
— PEG emulsifiers, EDTA, a single fragrance line, preservatives — you
are into the under-one-percent tail, and everything from there down is present at
roughly a percent or less each. Second, and this is the part most people miss: a
low position does not automatically damn an ingredient. Some actives, like
palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, genuinely work at trace amounts, so “it’s
near the bottom” needs a second question — is this an ingredient that
works low, or one that has simply been added in a token amount so it can go on the
front of the box?
For Olay Regenerist, the answer splits cleanly. Niacinamide at four is doing
real work at a real amount, and the front of the jar is honest about it. The
peptide at eleven is a trace, which for that peptide is fine, but the marketing
bills it as a co-star. The HA at thirteen is small and, on the newer formula, may
be gone. Read the label and it tells you which of the four names you are actually
paying for. The marketing department writes the front; it does not get to rewrite
the back.
FAQ
Does Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream have niacinamide, and how
much?
On the original-formula list read on 6 September 2026, niacinamide is
the fourth ingredient of about forty — high enough to be a functional
amount, most likely in the 2–5% range that the research supports, though
Olay does not disclose the number.
Where is the peptide on the label, and does its low position mean it
does not work?
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, the “Amino-Peptide,” is at position eleven.
That is a trace level — but published trials use this peptide at about
0.0003%, so trace is its working range. The low position is not evidence it is
inert; the fair point is that the marketing bills it as a co-star to the B3 while
it is a fraction of the formula by volume.
Does the cream contain hyaluronic acid?
On the original formula, sodium hyaluronate is at position thirteen, in the
under-one-percent band. A newer “triple collagen peptide” formula on
olay.com does not appear to list it, even though some retailer pages still market
hyaluronic acid as a key ingredient. Check your own label to see which version
you have.
Should I worry about the fragrance in it?
Fragrance is at position twenty-seven. Fragrance is the most common cause of
cosmetic contact allergy — roughly 0.7–2.6% of the general population,
higher among people patch-tested for dermatitis. That is worth knowing for a
twice-daily leave-on product if your skin reacts to scent; it is not proof the
cream will irritate you, and the amount is undisclosed.
Why are there two different ingredient lists for this product?
Olay has an original formula (with parabens, nylon-12 and sodium hyaluronate) and
a reformulated “triple collagen peptide” version (three peptides,
phenoxyethanol instead of parabens, and no listed hyaluronic acid) in
circulation. This analysis is of the original. The quickest tell: three parabens
means the original; phenoxyethanol and three peptides means the reformulated one.
Label read, front claim checked against the back. The B3 is real; the peptide is a trace; the HA is small.