There is no collagen in Olay Regenerist Collagen Peptide 24 Face Moisturizer. Reading its full label top to bottom, nothing named collagen, hydrolyzed collagen, or soluble collagen appears anywhere. The “collagen” in the name is a single peptide — Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 — sitting at position #10, between Pro-Vitamin B5 and a mushroom extract.
It is one of the best-selling “collagen” moisturizers at US drugstores, and the name does a lot of work. “Collagen Peptide 24” reads like a jar of collagen. So I pulled the label and read it the way I read every label: top to bottom, counting where the hero actually lands.

Is there any collagen in Olay Collagen Peptide 24?
No. Here is the full ingredient list for the fragrance-free face moisturizer, quoted verbatim, with the hero marked:
Water, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Isohexadecane, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Isostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polyacrylamide, Panthenol, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Tremella Fuciformis Sporocarp Extract, Tapioca Starch, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethiconol, Laureth-7, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, 1,2-Hexanediol, Phenoxyethanol
Read the whole thing and the word collagen never appears. What the brand calls “Collagen Peptide” is the INCI name Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 — better known by its trade name Matrixyl. It is a short five-amino-acid chain that signals skin cells to make more of their own collagen. It is not collagen, and it does not contain collagen. That is not a gotcha unique to Olay; topical collagen is a large molecule that does not pass into skin, which is why serious formulas use signaling peptides instead. Olay’s own Canadian ingredient page explains this distinction plainly — the shelf name just does not carry the same nuance.

Where does the peptide sit on the label?
Position #10, near the midpoint of the list. It follows five emollients and emulsifiers — isohexadecane, dimethicone, isopropyl isostearate, stearyl alcohol, polyacrylamide — that each typically make up a few percent of a cream, plus panthenol at #9. By the usual reading of an ingredient list, everything below roughly position six or seven is under one percent. So the peptide is almost certainly a fraction of a percent of the jar.
That is not automatically a problem. Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 is active at tiny doses. The trouble is the label alone does not tell you the dose, and Olay does not disclose it.
- What’s on the front
- “Collagen Peptide 24”
- What’s actually in the jar
- Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl), a collagen-signaling peptide — no collagen
- Its label position
- #10, around the midpoint of the list
- Disclosed concentration
- None

Does the concentration actually matter here?
It matters, and it is genuinely hard to know. The peer-reviewed work on this peptide is encouraging about its mechanism: a 2025 review of peptides for skin aging describes how Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 prompts fibroblasts to produce collagen and other matrix proteins, and a 2026 mechanistic review notes it activates the TGF-β signaling pathway that builds collagen and elastin. The double-blind studies that showed an effect used it at roughly three to four parts per million — about 0.0003%.
The catch is disclosure. A dermatology trade piece from July 2026 put it bluntly: most over-the-counter products list Matrixyl without disclosing concentration, and it advises looking for the peptide in the top half of the ingredient list. Here it sits at #10 — around the midpoint — with no number attached. The industry safety review backs up how small these doses run: the CIR assessment of pentapeptides records a maximum leave-on use level of 0.0012% across the formulas it surveyed. So the honest read is not “this is too weak.” It is “the amount is unknown from the label, and the research effect was demonstrated at a very specific low dose this jar may or may not hit.”

What should you look for instead?
If what you want is a peptide you can actually find on the label, look for a peptide that is both named clearly and sitting high enough that it is plausibly present in a meaningful amount. GHK-Cu — copper tripeptide-1 — is a well-studied example, a genuine copper-peptide complex with a documented role in collagen and elastin synthesis rather than only a signaling fragment.
Full disclosure, because this site is published by the team behind Evil Goods: our own Copper Peptide Blue Honey Cream is built around copper tripeptide-1 and lists it near the front rather than burying it at #10. That is not me telling you it outperforms Olay in a trial — I have no head-to-head data and will not pretend otherwise. It is me pointing at a formula where the peptide is named and positioned where you can see it. Compare the labels yourself; that is the whole point of this desk.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Olay Collagen Peptide 24 contain collagen?
- No. The full label contains no collagen in any form. “Collagen Peptide” is the marketing name for Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, a collagen-signaling peptide.
- What is Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4?
- A five-amino-acid peptide, trade name Matrixyl, that signals skin cells to produce collagen. The CIR notes it is a subfragment of type I collagen propeptide — derived from collagen, but not collagen itself.
- What does the “24” mean?
- Olay’s product copy ties it to 24 hours of hydration. The brand does not publish a formal definition, so treat that as marketing shorthand, not a measured figure.
- Is a peptide at position #10 useless?
- Not necessarily — this peptide works at very low doses. But the concentration is not disclosed, so the label alone cannot tell you whether it reaches the level used in the studies.
If you are weighing a serum against a cream for peptides, we wrote up how the two formats compare — also ours, and also a label-first read rather than a sales pitch.
