YTTP Superfood Air-Whip: The Kale Is the 10th Ingredient

Written by

in

Youth to the People’s Superfood Air-Whip
moisturizer is named for kale, spinach and green tea. On the label, kale is the
10th ingredient, green tea the 11th and spinach the 15th, in a list of
thirty-seven entries. The first nine — water, glycerin, caprylic/capric
triglyceride and squalane among them — are where the moisturizing work
actually happens.

A product called Superfood is making a promise with its name, and the
promise is specific: kale, spinach, green tea. These are the ingredients on the
front of the carton and all over the marketing. So the honest thing to do is read
the back, in order, and see where those three actually land — because US
labels are printed in descending order of how much is in the jar, which means the
list itself tells you something the front never will.

Pencil sketch of Nib, a small round creature, holding a magnifying glass up to a tub of Superfood Air-Whip face moisturizer, starting to read the ingredient list at the top.
Nib picks up the tub with kale, spinach and green tea on the front, and starts reading at ingredient one.

What’s in it, in order?

Here is the full ingredient list for the current Superfood Air-Whip
Lightweight Face Moisturizer with Hyaluronic Acid
, as published on the
major US and Australian retail listings that carry it, including Kohl’s and Mecca.
Every listing carried the identical list when they were read between
22 September and 8 October 2026; the retailer
pages carry the standard note that “the list of ingredients is subject to change,
please consult the packaging of the product purchased,” so treat this as the label
as published in that window rather than a reading off a jar in your hand:

Aqua/Water/Eau, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride,
Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Pentylene Glycol, Betaine, Squalane,
Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/Sunflower Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice
Powder, Brassica Oleracea Acephala Leaf Extract [Kale],
Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract [Green Tea], Chamomilla Recutita
Flower Extract, Medicago Sativa Extract/Alfalfa Extract, Sarcosine,
Spinacia Oleracea/Spinach Leaf Extract [Spinach], Copper PCA,
Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxyacetophenone, Menthoxypropanediol,
Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium
Hydroxide, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, Panthenol,
Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer,
Carbomer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Citric Acid, Glycine Soja
Oil/Soybean Oil, Limonene, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum/Fragrance.

The bracketed plain names are mine, added for readability; everything else is
the published INCI, in its published order.

Pencil sketch of Nib tapping a pencil on the tenth line of a long numbered ingredient list, where the word KALE is circled, with nine lines above it.
Ten lines down, past water, glycerin and squalane, Nib finds the first superfood.

Where do the superfoods actually land?

US cosmetic labels list ingredients in descending order of concentration, but
only down to the 1% line. Below 1%, a manufacturer may list ingredients in any
order (US FDA, Cosmetics Labeling Guide, 21 CFR 701.3(f)(2)). That
rule is the key to reading any “hero ingredient” claim: position above the 1% line
is meaningful; position below it is not strictly ranked.

# Ingredient What it is
1 Aqua/Water Solvent — the base
2 Glycerin Humectant — the main moisture-drawing worker
3 Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride Lightweight emollient oil
4 Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate Synthetic ester — skin-feel
5 Pentylene Glycol Humectant / preservative booster
6 Betaine Humectant
7 Squalane Emollient — listed three places above kale
8 Sunflower Seed Oil Emollient oil
9 Aloe Leaf Juice Powder Botanical, typically a small addition
10 Kale (Brassica Oleracea) First superfood — the name ingredient
11 Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis) Second superfood
15 Spinach (Spinacia Oleracea) Third superfood
24 3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid The “Vitamin C” — a stabilized derivative
36 Phenoxyethanol Primary preservative
37 Parfum/Fragrance Fragrance blend — list also names Limonene at #34

So the three superfoods start at #10 and run to #15, sitting behind the water,
the humectants and the emollient oils. Can I tell you they are below 1%? Honestly,
no — and I want to be careful here, because that is exactly the kind of claim
that sounds precise and isn’t. Position #10 is after aloe powder, which is usually
a small addition, so the superfood block is plausibly down near that 1% line; but
the label alone does not prove it, and the brand does not publish concentrations.
What the list does show, without any guessing, is the ranking of what the
formulator put the most of: water, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride and
squalane. Those are the moisturizer. The superfoods are supporting players.

None of that makes it a bad product. Glycerin and squalane are well-proven, and
a gel-cream built on them will moisturize perfectly well. The gap is only between
the name and the ranking: a jar called Superfood leads, by
weight, with the same humectant base as most of the category.

Pencil sketch of Nib holding a small leaf labelled KALE in one hand and a large bottle labelled GLYCERIN in the other, looking between them.
A leaf at number ten, the glycerin doing the heavy lifting up at number two. Nib keeps the ranking straight.

What does research say about kale and green tea on skin?

This is where it gets genuinely interesting rather than just underwhelming,
because kale and green tea are not inert — they are ingredients with real,
if modest, evidence, and the evidence has a number attached to it.

A 2025 review of kale in cosmetics
(Molecules, October 2025)
gathers the antioxidant and skin-conditioning work on kale extract. The topical
studies it describes used kale at roughly 2–5% — one serum at 5%
reduced a collagen-degrading enzyme markedly over the test period. Green tea is
better studied still: a small 2024 clinical trial
(green tea 3% cream, 36 subjects, 2024)
found a 3% green tea extract cream produced measurable improvement over eight
weeks, and reviews of green tea in skincare commonly describe around 5% as the
level where effects are reliably seen.

Hold those numbers next to the label. The studies that found an effect used
kale and green tea at low-single-digit percentages as the point of the
formula. Here they arrive at #10 and #11, below
the humectant base, at a concentration the brand does not disclose. I can’t tell
you what percentage is in the jar — nobody outside the lab can from a label.
What I can say is that the research showing a benefit used these extracts at levels
where they led the formula, and on this label they do not. That is a fair thing to
weigh before paying a superfood premium.

Pencil sketch of Nib at a desk comparing a lab beaker labelled 5% to a tiny dropper, a research paper open beside the ingredient list.
The studies used a few percent on purpose. Nib checks that against a superfood sitting tenth.

Is the “3 Weights of Hyaluronic Acid” claim on the label?

The listing advertises “3 Weights of Hyaluronic Acid.” On the label I can read,
there are two distinct hyaluronic compounds: Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate (#17)
and Sodium Hyaluronate (#21). A third, separately named HA form is not visible in
this list.

I’d rather flag that as an open question than call it an error, because there
are honest explanations. The brand may be counting a crosspolymer or a molecular-
weight variant that isn’t separately named under INCI rules, or the formula on
these retail pages may differ in some detail from the physical carton. What is
accurate to say is narrow and checkable: the label as published shows two HA
forms, and the marketing says three.
If the third is in there, it is not
visible in the ingredient declaration I can read.

The “Vitamin C” is worth the same plain treatment. It is on the label as
3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid at #24 — a stabilized vitamin C derivative, not
L-ascorbic acid, and well down the list. A legitimate ingredient; just not the
same molecule as “vitamin C” unqualified, and not in a leading position.

So is the Superfood Air-Whip worth it?

If you want a light, water-and-glycerin gel-cream with a squalane emollient and
some botanical extras, this is a competent one, and plenty of people clearly like
how it feels. If you are buying it because of the kale, spinach and green
tea — expecting those to be the active heart of the formula — the
label says they are supporting players ranked below the base, at a concentration
the brand does not publish.

If you would rather use a face moisturizer whose emollient is the thing it
leads with, that is the sort of product we make: our
beef tallow moisturizer
is built around tallow and a short supporting cast rather than a long botanical
tail. (Full disclosure: Ingredient Desk is published by the team behind Evil
Goods, so that one is ours.)
It is a different philosophy, not a cure for
anything — shorter list, emollient first. Whether that suits your skin is
genuinely a matter of preference and what your face likes.

FAQ

Where is the kale in Youth to the People Superfood Air-Whip?
Kale (Brassica Oleracea Acephala Leaf Extract) is the 10th ingredient in a list of
thirty-seven. Green tea is 11th and spinach is 15th. Water, glycerin,
caprylic/capric triglyceride and squalane are all listed ahead of them.

Are the superfoods below 1%? The label does not prove it. US
rules let ingredients under 1% be listed in any order, and the superfood block
sits just after aloe powder, so it is plausibly near that line — but
position alone is not proof, and the brand does not disclose concentrations.

Does the green tea do anything at that position? Green tea
extract has real evidence in skincare, but the clinical work that found effects
used it at roughly 3–5%, as the point of the formula. The concentration in
this product is not disclosed, and on the label it sits 11th.

Is the “3 Weights of Hyaluronic Acid” claim accurate? The
label as published shows two distinct HA forms, Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate and
Sodium Hyaluronate. A third separately named form is not visible; whether it is a
crosspolymer or a weight variant not separately listed is an open question.

Is the “Vitamin C” in it real vitamin C? It is
3-O-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, a stabilized derivative of vitamin C, at position #24. It
is a legitimate ingredient but not L-ascorbic acid, and it is well down the list.

When was this label read? The ingredient list was taken from
the major US and Australian retail listings that carry it, including Kohl’s and
Mecca, between 22 September and 8 October 2026, where every listing
matched. Retailers note the list can change, so check your own carton.

Pencil sketch of Nib closing a notebook beside the Superfood tub, a page showing the number 10, satisfied at having read the whole label.
Label read to the last line. Nib closes the notebook: the front said superfood, the list said tenth.